Hansbrough Named Top ACC Athlete

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. - Tyler Hansbrough, the consensus National Player of the Year in men's basketball, is the 2007-08 Atlantic Coast Conference Male Athlete of the Year, the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association announced Tuesday. Hansbrough will receive the McKevlin Award, named for former News and Observer sports editor Anthony J. McKevlin.

Hansbrough received 28 of 67 votes. Virginia's NCAA champion tennis player Somdev Devvarman was second with 20 votes, and Florida State's Buster Posey, the national player of the year in baseball, was third with 12.

Virginia Tech softball pitcher Angela Tincher won the Mary Garber Award as the best female athlete. Tincher won the voting ahead of Duke golfer Amanda Blumenhurst and UNC's Rachel Dawson, the field hockey national player of the year who led the Tar Heels to the NCAA championship.

Hansbrough joins UNC's Lennie Rosenbluth and Antawn Jamison and Duke's Christian Laettner as just the fourth player to win national player of the year, ACC Player of the Year, ACC Tournament MVP and NCAA Regional MVP honors in the same year. He led the ACC in scoring (22.6) and rebounding (10.2), led the nation in free throws made and attempted, tied an ACC record by scoring in double figures in all 39 games, scored 25 or more points 16 times and set an ACC single-season record with eight player of the week awards.

The rising senior from Poplar Bluff, Mo., is second in UNC career scoring with 2,168 points, is seventh at UNC with 943 rebounds and is ninth in NCAA history with 733 made free throws. That is already the highest figure made by an ACC player in history.

Hansbrough is the 13th Tar Heel and the ninth UNC men's basketball player to win the McKevlin Award (Phil Ford won it twice). He joins a list that includes Rosenbluth (1957), Danny Talbott (baseball and football, 1966), Larry Miller (1968), Charles Scott (1970), Don McCauley (football, 1971), Tony Waldrop (track and field, 1974), Ford (1977 and 1978), James Worthy (1982), Michael Jordan (1984), B.J. Surhoff (baseball, 1985), Jamison (1998) and Sean May (2005).

Carolina basketball players have won the award 10 times. That ties the mark with Duke men's basketball for the most McKevlin Awards won by a sport at one school.

Inside Carolina Top Stories