Tar Heels Hand Out Awards At Football Banquet

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. --- University of North Carolina wide receiver Sam Aiken and safety Dexter Reid were named offensive and defensive MVPs, respectively, at the football team's annual banquet held Sunday evening in the Smith Center

The Tar Heels are still dealing with the tragic death of defensive tackle Carl Smalls, who was shot and killed yesterday morning in Columbia, S.C. Head coach John Bunting, speaking at the beginning of the banquet, asked for a moment of silence while a photo of Smalls was displayed on video board. Bunting, who usually speaks at the end of the event, left immediately after his speech with Assistant Athletic Director Corey Holliday to travel to Charleston to be with the Smalls' family.

William Fuller, a 15-year pro football veteran who was recently selected as one of the Atlantic Coast Conference's top 50 players of all-time, was the keynote speaker at the banquet. Fuller was an All-America defensive lineman for the Tar Heels in 1982 and 1983 and is one of only three defensive linemen ever to make All-ACC three times.

The E. Carrington Smith MVP awards were presented to two of the Tar Heels' best players of all-time at their respective positions. Aiken set school records as a senior with 68 catches and 990 yards. He finished his career fourth in career receptions and third in total receiving yards. Aiken also was named the Art Weiner Award as the team's most outstanding receiver.

Reid had 166 tackles this season, the most ever by a Tar Heel defensive back and just five shy of the school record of 171 set by linebacker Buddy Curry in 1979. Reid was also earned the Charlie Justice Award for outstanding contribution on defense and the Cary Boshamer Award as the team's most outstanding defensive back. It is the second consecutive year Reid has been named the team's most outstanding defensive back.

Aiken and Reid, along with senior Ronald Brewer, received the James Southerland Award for serving as team captains in 2002.

Other awards were as follows: Darian Durant, Louis Graves Award as most outstanding offensive back; Jason Brown, Bill Arnold Memorial Award for outstanding offensive lineman; Chase Page, William Fuller Award for outstanding defensive lineman; Doug Justice, George Barclay Award as most outstanding linebacker; Dan Orner, Greg Poole Award for outstanding special teams player; Will Chapman, Andy Bershak Award for outstanding defensive end, Ronald Brewer, Jack Sapp Memorial Award for best all-around senior; Jeb Terry, Charlie Justice Award for outstanding contribution on offense and William Rand Kenan Jr. Award; Zach Hilton, Most Improved Player on offense; Jocques Dumas, Most Improved Player on defense; Malcolm Stewart, Morris Mason Award for outstanding lifter; Marcus Wilson, Athletic Director's Scholar-Athlete Award; Ronald Brewer, Bob Osterneck Memorial Award for team spirit; Bobby Blizzard, Jeffrey Cowell Memorial Award for outstanding newcomer on offense; Madison Hedgecock, Jeffrey Cowell Memorial Award for outstanding newcomer on defense; Kendall High and Jarwarski Pollock, Jeffrey Cowell Memorial Award for outstanding newcomers; Robert Harris and Eric Davis, John Lacey Rehabilitation Award.

Inside Carolina Top Stories