All-ACC Teams Announced

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. --- ­ Senior forward Tyler Hansbrough and junior point guard Ty Lawson were voted to the 2009 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Men's Basketball First Team by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association, marking the 22nd time the Tar Heels have placed multiple players on the first team.

Hansbrough is the first player in ACC history to earn first-team All-ACC honors four times and he was a unanimous selection in each of those four seasons. Twenty-four other players had been three-time first-team selections. NC State's David Thompson and Duke's Art Heyman had been the only players to be three-time unanimous picks along with Hansbrough.

The Poplar Bluff, Mo., native received all 76 votes and compiled 228 points in the balloting.

"It's quite an honor considering all the great players that have played in the ACC," says Hansbrough. "It's really a tough league year in and year our. If it's not the best league in a given year, it's always one of the best. I don't think in terms of individual awards and accomplishments, but to do something that's never been done before in a league as great as the ACC is pretty cool."

Lawson received 224 votes, the third-most behind Hansbrough and Florida State's Toney Douglas (226). Duke's Gerald Henderson (210) and Miami's Jack McClinton (188) rounded out the first team.

Carolina senior forward Danny Green made third-team and junior Wayne Ellington was an honorable mention pick. Tar Heel rookie Ed Davis earned a spot on the All-Freshman Team.

Green became the fourth Tar Heel to win a spot on the league's All-Defensive Team. He joins Brendan Haywood (2001), Jackie Manuel (2004 and 2005) and Marcus Ginyard (2008) as All-ACC Defensive selections.

Hansbrough and Lawson being on the first team marks the first time UNC has placed two on the first team since 2005 when Raymond Felton and Sean May were selected.

Carolina leads the ACC with 69 first-team selections and 126 all-conference picks. Duke is second with 58 first-team picks and 122 overall.


First Team
*Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina (228)
Toney Douglas, Florida State (226)
Ty Lawson, North Carolina (224)
Gerald Henderson, Duke (210)
Jack McClinton, Miami (188)

Second Team
Jeff Teague, Wake Forest (185)
Trevor Booker, Clemson (156)
Tyrese Rice, Boston College (151)
Kyle Singler, Duke (128)
Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (116)

Third Team
James Johnson, Wake Forest (100)
Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech (83)
A.D. Vassallo, Virginia Tech (81)
Danny Green, North Carolina (48)
Gani Lawal, Georgia Tech (46)

Honorable Mention
Wayne Ellington, North Carolina (41)
K.C. Rivers, Clemson (33)
Sylven Landesberg, Virginia (15)

All-Freshman Team
*Sylven Landesberg, Virginia (76)
*Al-Farouq Aminu, Wake Forest (76)
Iman Shumpert, Georgia Tech (70)
Solomon Alabi, Florida State (59)
Ed Davis, North Carolina (55)

Honorable Mention
Chris Singleton, Florida State (21)

All-Defensive Team
Trevor Booker, Clemson (67)
Toney Douglas, Florida State (67)
Solomon Alabi, Florida State (53)
Danny Green, North Carolina (28)
L.D. Williams, Wake Forest (26)

Honorable Mention
Ty Lawson, North Carolina (20)
Gani Lawal, Georgia Tech (17)
Courtney Fells, North Carolina State (16)
Gerald Henderson, Duke (15)

Inside Carolina Top Stories