Leesville is the Beast

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. --- Between the hedges of Kenan Stadium, Raleigh (N.C.) Leesville Road won North Carolina's "Beast of the Hill" Seven-on-Seven Passing Tournament, Friday.

The tournament included 18 schools from North Carolina, Ohio, and Virginia. The participating schools were broken into three pods (Blue, Rams, and Heels) of six schools.

Each school played the five other teams in their pod. At the end of the "round robin," the top two schools from each pod plus two wildcards advanced to the "Championship Bracket." The next eight schools with the best records remaining  were placed in a "Challenger Bracket."

Chesapeake (Va.) Great Bridge was the lone team to go undefeated in "round robin" play. However, several of their games were close. They eventually came out on the wrong end of a close game when they lost to Leesville Road, 24-21, in the Championship Bracket's semi-finals.

Great Bridge's loss set up a "Championship Bracket" final between Leesville Road and wildcard McLeansville (N.C.) Northeast Guilford, who upset Richmond (Va.) Hermitage in the first round and Bethel (N.C.) North Pitt in the semi-finals.

In the "Challenger Bracket," Durham (N.C.) Jordan and Raleigh (N.C.) Sanderson, who were led by two of the tournaments most highly recruited participants in T.J. Thorpe and Matt James, caught fire to set up a pretty competitive final. Sanderson won a back-and-forth match up to claim the "Challenger Bracket" title.

In addition to the 18 schools, several individual recruits participated in the tournament as part of one of the existing teams. The group of individual recruits included Chris Alston (WR, Princeton (N.J.) Hun, '10), Travis Crosby (CB, Charlotte (N.C.) West, '10), Eric Ebron (WR, Greensboro Smith, ‘11), Joshua James (WR, Orlando (Fla.) Colonial), Brandon McCauley (CB, Charlotte (N.C.) West, '11), Axel Ofori (CB, Gaithersburg (Md.)), J.D. Pride (CB, Brooklyn Park (MN) Totino Grace, '10), Scoot Simmons (RB, Charlotte (N.C.) West, '11)

Tournament Awards

Tournament MVP: T.J. Thorpe (WR/FS, Durham Jordan, ‘11.)

Championship Bracket Awards
Top Gun (QB): Josh Stanley (QB, Raleigh Leesville, ‘11)
Offensive Playmaker: Vad Lee (QB, Durham Hillside, ‘11)
Defensive Playmaker: Brandon Pittman (LB, Raleigh Leesville, ‘11)

Challenger Bracket Awards
Top Gun (QB): Sam Baulkum (QB, Raleigh Sanderson, '10)
Offensive Playmaker: Eric Ebron (WR, Greensboro Smith*, ‘11)
Defensive Playmaker: Quanshae Lockhart (LB, Durham Jordan, '10)

Most Inspirational: Trey Ingram (Northeast Guilford, ‘10)
Best Effort: Ryan Magnum (S, Raleigh Leesville, ‘11)

* Played on East Chapel Hill's team.

Leesville Road (Raleigh, N.C.)41
Hopewell (Huntersville, N.C.)32
Carver (Winston-Salem, N.C.)32
Jordan (Durham, N.C.)23
South Johnston (Four Oaks, N.C.)23
East Chapel Hill (Chapel Hill, N.C.)14
Great Bridge (Chesapeake, Va.)50
Cummings (Burlington, N.C.)32
North Pitt (Bethel, N.C.)32
Sanderson (Raleigh, N.C.)23
Northern Durham (Durham, N.C.)14
Carrboro (Carrboro, N.C.)14
Hermitage (Richmond, Va.)41
Hillside (Durham, N.C.)32
T.C. Williams (Alexandria, Va.)32
Northeast Guilford (McLeansville, N.C.)32
Broughton (Raleigh, N.C.)14
Cleveland Heights (Cleveland Heights, Ohio)14

Challenger Bracket
First Round
1) Hopewell beat 8) East Chapel Hill
2) Cummings beat 7) Carrboro
3) Jordan beat 6) Northern Durham
4) Sanderson beat 5) South Johnston
3) Jordan beat 1) Hopewell
 4) Sanderson beat 2) Cummings
4) Sanderson beat 3) Jordan

Championship Bracket
First Round
1) Great Bridge beat 8) TC Williams
7) NE Guilford beat 2) Hermitage
3) Leesville beat 6) Hillside
4) North Pitt beat 5) Carver
3) Leesville beat 1) Great Bridge
7) NE Guilford beat 4) North Pitt
3) Leesville beat 7) NE Guilford

Inside Carolina Top Stories