Thompson, Davis on Wooden Award Watch

University of North Carolina forwards Deon Thompson and Ed Davis are both among the 50 preseason candidates for the 2009-10 John R. Wooden Award All-American Team and Player of the Year trophy, Wooden Award Chairman and founder "Duke" Llewellyn announced today.

The list is comprised of 50 student athletes who, based on last year's individual performance and team records, are the early frontrunners for college basketball's most prestigious honor.

Thompson started 37 of 38 Tar Heel games last season, averaging 10.6 points and 5.7 rebounds per contest. Davis was the first big man off the Carolina bench in 2008-09, averaging 6.7 points and 6.6 rebounds while leading the team with 65 blocked shots.

Luke Harangody of Notre Dame is the only 2009 Wooden All-American returning to college basketball in 2009-10. He returns to South Bend for his final collegiate season and has a chance to become a three-time Wooden All-American.

Returning players from last year's Wooden Award ballot, in addition to Harangody, include Sherron Collins of Kansas, Duke's Kyle Singler and Kalin Lucas of Michigan State. Purdue's Robbie Hummel made the Wooden ballot in 2008.

Transfers, freshmen and medical redshirts are not eligible for the preseason list. These players and others who excel throughout the season will be evaluated and considered for December's midseason list and the official voting ballot released in March.

Nine schools had two players chosen to the Wooden Award preseason Top 50 and all are familiar names to fans who followed college basketball a season ago: Kansas (Collins, Cole Aldrich), Michigan State (Lucas, Raymar Morgan) Duke (Singler, Jon Scheyer), Michigan (DeShawn Sims, Manny Harris), North Carolina (Davis, Thompson), Purdue (Hummel, E'Twaun Moore), Connecticut (Kemba Walker, Jerome Dyson), Villanova (Scottie Reynolds, Corey Fisher), and West Virginia (Devin Ebanks, Da'Sean Butler).

Eleven conferences are represented on the Wooden Award Preseason List. Leading the way is the Big East (11), followed by the ACC (10), Big 10 (8), SEC (7), Big 12 (6), Pac-10 (3), and Atlantic 10, CAA, Conference USA, WAC and West Coast with one apiece.

Name Height Class Position University Conference
Solomon Alabi 7-1 So. C Florida State ACC
Cole Aldrich 6-11 Jr. C Kansas Big 12
Al-Farouq Aminu 6-9 So. F Wake Forest ACC
Luke Babbit 6-9 So. F Nevada WAC
Talor Battle 5-11 Jr. G Penn State Big Ten
Trevor Booker 6-7 Sr. F Clemson ACC
Matt Bouldin 6-5 Sr. G Gonzaga West Coast
Craig Brackins 6-10 Jr. F Iowa State Big 12
Da'Sean Butler 6-7 Sr. F West Virginia Big East
Sherron Collins 5-11 Sr. G Kansas Big 12
Ed Davis 6-10 So. F North Carolina ACC
Devan Downey 5-9 Sr G South Carolina SEC
Jerome Dyson 6-3 Sr. G Connecticut Big East
Devin Ebanks 6-9 So. F West Virginia Big East
Corey Fisher 6-1 Jr. G Villanova Big East
Luke Harangody *# 6-8 Sr. F Notre Dame Big East
Manny Harris 6-5 Jr. G Michigan Big Ten
Gordon Hayward 6-8 So. G/F Butler Conference USA
Jeremy Hazell 6-5 Jr. G Seton Hall Big East
Robbie Hummel 6-8 Jr. F Purdue Big Ten
Damion James 6-7 Sr. G/F Texas Big 12
Sylven Landesberg 6-6 So. G Virginia ACC
Gani Lawal 6-9 Jr. F Georgia Tech ACC
Kalin Lucas 6-0 Jr. G Michigan State Big Ten
Tasmin Mitchell 6-7 Sr. F Louisiana State SEC
Greg Monroe 6-11 So. C Georgetown Big East
E'Twaun Moore 6-3 Jr. G Purdue Big Ten
Raymar Morgan 6-8 Sr. F Michigan State Big Ten
A.J. Ogilvy 6-11 Jr. C Vanderbilt SEC
Patrick Patterson 6-9 Jr. F Kentucky SEC
Jerome Randle 5-10 Sr. G California Pac 10
Scottie Reynolds 6-2 Jr. G Villanova Big East
Samardo Samuels 6-8 So. F Louisville Big East
Larry Sanders 6-11 Jr. F VCU CAA
Jon Scheyer 6-5 Sr. G Duke ACC
DeShawn Sims 6-8 Sr. F Michigan Big Ten
Kyle Singler 6-8 Jr. F Duke ACC
Tyler Smith 6-7- Sr. G/F Tennessee SEC
Isaiah Thomas 5-8 So. G Washington Pac 10
Deon Thompson 6-8 Sr. F North Carolina ACC
J.T. Tiller 6-3 Sr. G Missouri Big 12
Evan Turner 6-7 Jr. G/F Ohio State Big Ten
Jarvis Varnado 6-9 Sr. F/C Mississippi State SEC
Greivis Vasquez 6-6 Sr. G Maryland ACC
Deonta Vaughn 6-1 Sr. G Cincinnati Big East
Kemba Walker 6-1 So. G Connecticut Big East
Willie Warren 6-4 So. G Oklahoma Big 12
Terrico White 6-5 So. G Mississippi SEC
Nic Wise 5-10 Sr. G Arizona Pac 10
Chris Wright 6-8 Jr. F Dayton Atlantic 10

Inside Carolina Top Stories