Barnes Named Player of the Year

Harrison Barnes is the 2010 Morgan Wootten National Player of the Year. The award was announced Wednesday and will be presented later this month as part of the McDonald's All-American Game.

Barnes, the 6-8 prep star from Ames High School, became the fourteenth-annual male Morgan Wootten Award winner. Previous winners include Kevin Love (2007), Dwight Howard (2004), LeBron James (2003), Jason Williams (1999) and the Award's first recipient Shane Battier (1997). Barnes beat out finalists Kyrie Irving (St. Patrick High School – Elizabeth, N.J.), Perry Jones (Duncanville High School – Duncanville, Tex.), Brandon Knight (Pine Crest School – Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), Jared Sullinger (Northland High School – Columbus, Ohio) and Tristan Thompson (Findlay Prep – Henderson, Nev.).

The Morgan Wootten Award is given to the best McDonald's All American player who exemplify outstanding character, exhibit leadership and embody the values of being a student-athlete in the classroom and the community. McDonald's established the Award in Wootten's name to pay tribute to his unprecedented achievements as a teacher and coach. The official presentation will take place at the McDonald's All American Games awards banquet, March 30 in Columbus, Ohio.

Barnes is a decorated athlete who is averaging 26.9 points and 10.5 rebounds for Ames, which has won 50 consecutive games.

When he's not playing basketball, Barnes is involved in DECA (Marketing, Management, Entrepreneurship Club) and Students Helping Eliminate Poverty and Hunger (SHEPH). He also participated in the 2009 Mid-Iowa Community Action Agency Food Drive, serves as an algebra tutor and leads a weekly Bible study. Barnes will suit up for North Carolina in the fall.

"I am humbled and honored to be the recipient of the prestigious Morgan Wootten Award as the 2010 McDonald's National High School Player of the Year," said Barnes. "I feel blessed that my name will be linked with everything this award embodies."

The 2010 McDonald's All American Basketball Game will be played March 31 at Value City Arena in Columbus, Ohio at 8:00 p.m. ET, and will broadcast live on ESPN.

Harrison Barnes Profile

Inside Carolina Top Stories