Pianalto On Mackey Award Watch List

North Carolina senior Zack Pianalto has been named to the 2010 John Mackey Award preseason watch list, announced Monday by the Nassau County Sports Commission.

Given annually to the best collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2010 John Mackey winner will be announced on December 9, 2010.

Pianalto, a native of Springdale, Ark., set a school record for most receptions by a tight end with 33 for 334 yards and one touchdown despite missing five games with a foot injury. Pianalto has started 20 games in his three-year career and has 64 catches for 607 yards and two touchdowns.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists nine NFL players as alumni: Dallas Clark ('01) of the 2006 Super Bowl Champion Indianapolis Colts, two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('02) of the Denver Broncos, Kellen Winslow II ('03) of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, Matt Spaeth ('06) of the of the 2008 Super Bowl Champion Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis ('07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman ('08) of the Cincinnati Bengals and the 2009 John Mackey Award recipient Aaron Hernandez of the New England Patriots.

Dwayne Allen SO Clemson
Jeffery Anderson SR UAB
Tim Biere JR Kansas
George Bryan JR NC State
Ryan Deehan JR Colorado
Drake Dunsmore JR Northwestern
Charlie Gantt SR Michigan St
Cameron Graham SR Louisville
Marcus Green JR Mississippi St
Virgil Green SR Nevada
Ryan Griffin SO Connecticut
Ben Guidugli SR Cincinnatti
Joe Halahuni JR Oregon St
Blake Hammond SO W. Michigan
Brett Huffman SR Duke
DC Jefferson SO Rutgers
Andrew Jones JR Missouri
Lance Kendricks SR Wisconsin
Kevin Koger JR Michigan
Brian Linthicum JR Michigan St
Kavario Middleton JR Washington
Anthony Miller JR California
Kyle Rudolph JR Notre Dame
Eric Peitz SR Colorado St
Zach Pianalto SR North Carolina
Konrad Reuland SR Stanford
Weslye Saunders SR South Carolina
Lee Smith SR Marshall
Luke Stocker SR Tennessee
Aron White JR Georgia
DJ Williams SR Arkansas
Alston Umuolo SR San Diego St

Inside Carolina Top Stories