Searcy On Hornung Award Watch List

North Carolina safety/kick returner Da'Norris Searcy has been named to the watch list for the inaugural Paul Hornung Award that will be given annually to the most versatile player in major college football.

The Watch List, comprised of 48 players, was compiled by a panel of college football experts based on 2009 statistics and expectations heading into the 2010 season. The list will be updated during the course of the season based on players' performances.

Searcy started all 13 games in 2009 at safety and had 35 tackles, including one tackle for loss, and had one interception and three pass breakups. He also finished second in the ACC and fifth in the country as the starting punt returner, averaging 14.6 yards. He also had seven kickoff returns for 162 yards.

"Paul Hornung was a playmaker and the spirit of the Paul Hornung Award is to recognize versatile, high-level performers who make an impact on the game," said Karl Schmitt, executive director of the Louisville Sports Commission. "The Watch List is a work in progress, and we are particularly pleased from the outset to draw attention to almost two dozen individuals that have not received recognition with other awards."

Nearly half of the players - a total of 23 - do not appear on any major college football award watch list published to date. Most candidates had a minimum of three different "touches" in 2009 - catching, running, passing, returning kicks, returning punts, holding for placements, tackling, deflecting / intercepting a pass or recovering a fumble. In 2009, the 48 players on the list amassed a combined:
* 15,581 rushing yards and 186 TDs
* 19,808 receiving yards and 128 TDs
* 10,187 passing yards and 83 TDs
* 438 punt returns, 4,960 yards, 15 TDs; 822 KOs 21,175 yards and 28 TDs
* 360 total touchdowns and 2,174 points
* 374 tackles; eight forced fumbles; 35 passes broken up
* 12 interceptions, two returned for TDs; two fumbles returned for TDs
* Three blocked kicks

There are 25 seniors, 18 juniors and five sophomores on the list, representing all 11 conferences that are part of the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS).

Players from all FBS teams are eligible. Appearing on the Watch List is not a prerequisite for winning the Award. The Selection Committee will narrow the field to approximately 10-15 Finalists at the end of the regular season in early December then will select the winner at or near the end of the bowl season in early January.

2010 Paul Hornung Award Watch List
Douglas Beaumont, Louisville
Leon Berry, Mississippi State
Brandon Boykin, Georgia
LaVon Brazill, Ohio
Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma
Tyron Carrier, Houston
Randall Cobb, Kentucky
Graig Cooper, Miami
Dwight Dasher, Middle Tennessee
Ricky Dobbs, Navy
Tandon Doss, Indiana
Stephon Gilmore, South Carolina
David Gilreath, Wisconsin
Dwayne Harris, East Carolina
T.Y. Hilton, Florida International
Jerrel Jernigan, Troy
Damaris Johnson, Tulsa
Derrell Johnson-Koulianos, Iowa
Colin Kaepernick, Nevada
Jeremy Kerley, TCU
Derrick Locke, Kentucky
Owen Marecic, Stanford
Doug Martin, Boise State
Keshawn Martin, Michigan State
Josh Nesbitt, Georgia Tech
James Nixon, Temple
Warren Norman, Vanderbilt
Chris Owusu, Stanford
Eric Page, Toledo
Niles Paul, Nebraska
DeVier Posey, Ohio State
Terrelle Pryor, Ohio State
Bobby Rainey, Western Kentucky
Chris Rainey, Florida
Greg Reid, Florida State
Reggie Rembert, Air Force
Dyrell Roberts, Virginia Tech
James Rodgers, Oregon State
Jock Sanders, West Virginia
Mohamed Sanu, Rutgers
Da'Norris Searcy, North Carolina
Torrey Smith, Maryland
Shaky Smithson, Utah
Jerrard Tarrant, Georgia Tech
Daniel Thomas, Kansas State
Shane Vereen, California
Demond Washington, Auburn
Devon Wylie, Fresno State

Inside Carolina Top Stories