Heels to host DePaul in NIT opener

North Carolina has received an invitation to play in the NIT and will play host to DePaul in the Smith Center on Tuesday, March 18, at 9 p.m. on ESPN.

The Tar Heels enter play in the NIT with a 17-15 record, with wins over Duke and Maryland in their last three games.

"We are excited to still be playing in a national tournament," says Carolina head coach Matt Doherty. "This is a great opportunity for our team to continue to grow and develop, not only this year but for next season. The experience and exposure you can get by playing in the NIT are very valuable."

This is Carolina¹s fifth appearance in the NIT. Carolina won the tournament in 1971 and also played in the event in 1970, 1973 and 1974.

The DePaul Blue Demons are 16-12. They finished 8-8 in Conference USA play, with wins over Cincinnati, Charlotte and Louisville, a No. 4 seed in the NCAA Tournament. The Blue Demons are coached by former Connecticut assistant Dave Leitao.

The winner of the Carolina-DePaul game will meet the winner of Wyoming-Eastern Washington at a site and on a date to be determined later.

Tickets will go on sale on Monday at 8 a.m. They may be purchased over the phone at 1-800-722-4335 or 919-962-2296 or by fax at 919-962-5529. Tickets may also be purchased at the Smith Center Box Office on Monday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Tuesday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Fans are encouraged to pick up will call tickets in advance. Tickets purchased on Monday will be available beginning Tuesday at 8 a.m.

Tickets are $15. Seating will be first-come, first-served in lower-level sections 100-104 and 113-133 and all upper-level sections from row E-Y.

Student tickets are $5. Students may purchase four (4) student tickets with each UNC OneCard. Student riser seating will NOT be in effect for this game.

The NIT Field
Boston College (18-11)
Boston University (20-10)
Brown (17-11)
Cal Santa Barbara (18-13)
Charleston (24-8)
DePaul (16-12)
Drexel (19-11)
Eastern Washington (18-12)
Fairfield (19-11)
Georgetown (15-14)
Georgia Tech (14-14)
Hawaii (19-11)
Kent State (21-9)
Illinois Chicago (21-8)
Iowa (15-13)
Iowa State (16-13)
Louisiana-Lafayette (20-8)
Minnesota (16-12)
Nevada (18-13)
North Carolina (17-15)
Ohio State (17-14)
Providence (16-13)
Rhode Island (19-10)
Richmond (15-13)
Saint Louis (16-13)
San Diego State (15-12)
Seton Hall (17-12)
Siena (19-11)
St. John's (16-13)
Temple (15-15)
Tennessee (17-11)
Texas Tech (18-12)
UAB (19-12)
UNLV (20-10
Valparaiso (20-10)
Villanova (15-15)
Virginia (15-15)
Western Michigan (19-10)
Wichita State (18-11)
Wyoming (21-10)

Inside Carolina Top Stories