Lacrosse's Gursuk Honored in D.C.

While the Wildcat players didn't walk off with the top prize, one of Northwestern's original players was recognized at the Tewaaraton Trophy Award dinner Thursday night...

Scott Garceau, the Master of Ceremonies, pretty well gave it away when he announced that a Goalie had won it...
The Award in question is the CSTV Geppi-Aikens Scolarship and the winner was Northwestern Senior Goal Keeper Ashley Gersuk. Also under consideration were Princeton's Lindsey Biles, and Dartmouth's Katieanne Charistian.

The $5,000 Diane Geppi-Aikens Scholarship honors the senior women's lacrosse student-athlete who has displayed the same extraordinary leadership, character and perseverance as exhibited by Geppi-Aikens, the late Hall of Fame coach of the Loyola (Md.) women's lacrosse team. Its purpose was to try to define and recognize the ultimate student-athlete.

Gersuk was one of the first players on the reconstituted Northwestern Lacrosse team. An Attacker in High School, she moved to Goalie at NU and was one of three captains on the team. She credits an outstanding defense, but in the NCAA Finals she blocked 8 shots in a game decided by 3 points.

We'll have photos, the text of her remarks, and some post award interviews up Friday morning.

Purple Wildcats Top Stories