2 Cats Finalists for Tewaaraton

Kristen Kjellman won it in 2006, this year Kjellman and Northwestern Wildcat Women's Lacrosse attacker, soph Hannah Nielson is also one of 5 finalists for the award.

This is almost "old hat" for Kristen Kjellman
NU's leading scorer [57 goals]is again a finalists for Lacrosses' top honor - the Tewaaraton Award.

Named for the actual Indian [some call them Native Americans] name for the sport, the Tewaaraton is Lacrosse's top honor, similar to the Heisman Trophy in football.

Kjellman is NU's top scorer this year with 57 goals, netting 29 goals in the past 11 games. She won the ALC Player of the Year award last week, along with an ALC All-Tournament team award. A Senior, she is NU's leading all time scorer, 241 goals, and is in line for even more scoring honors as the NCAA Tournament Progresses.

Neilsen is NU's assist leader with 61, along with 45 additional goals so far this season. She is 2nd in the NCAA with 3.3 assists a game, added to 5.9 ppg [3rd in the NCAA]. This Australian player won the ALC MVP trophy for the recently completed tournament.

The Tewaaraton Award will be given on Memorial Day weekend, May 30th at the National Geographic Headquarters in Washington, DC.

Purple Wildcats Top Stories