Random Thoughts - Tewaaraton and NU

Anyone paying attention to the Women's Lacrosse team? Besides beating Virginia (again) to go 15-0, the Cats have quietly put 3 more players on the nominee list for Lacrosse's Tewaareton Trophy Award.

Its almost become an annual tradition:
Three members of our Women's Lacrosse team, Hilary Bowen, Morgan Lathrop, and Hannah Nielsen have been nominated for the Tewaareton Trophy Award, the Lacrosse version of the Heisman Trophy.

Senior Mid-fielder Hannah Nielsen has been a standout in both scoring and assists her entire career, chalking up her usual 2 goals and 3 assists including the winning goal to beat Virginia on the road last weekend. As of that game, Nielsen led the team in scoring (48 goals) and assists (54), is second in Draw Controls (38). Those 54 assists break the all time NCAA assists record.

She was the winner of the Tewaaraton last year, and is probably the favorite to repeat.

Senior Mid-fielder/Attacker Hilary Bowen is another scoring threat, and is presently tied with Neilsen in scoring goals, even though she missed 3 games. Her 48 goals and 11 assists put her second on the NU Scoring List.

Senior Goalkeeper Morgan Lathrop has been NU's goalie almost since arriving in Evanston - starting 19 of 20 games as a freshman. She's 15-0 in the net, allowing just 5.41goals a game, with a 54.6% save percentage. If they're ever going to give the Tewaaraton to a goalkeeper, she's got the stats to make a good case.

The Cats join Maryland and Duke as the two other teams in Women's Lacrosse with 3 nominees.

The Tewaaraton Award Foundation, in conjunction with The University Club of Washington, DC, formally established the "Tewaaraton Trophy" on August 29, 2000. Today, the Tewaaraton Trophy is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the top female and male varsity collegiate lacrosse player in the United States. Simply, it is the lacrosse equivalent of the Heisman Trophy. With the inaugural presentation taking place at the University Club of Washington, DC in June of 2001, the Tewaaraton Trophy is now presented annually following the collegiate season at a banquet honoring the finalists and winners.

Northwestern has dominated the Award since 2006. Midfielder Kristen Kjellman won in 2006 and 2007, Hannah Neilsen won last year.

The award will be announced on May 28th, following the NCAA championships in Washington, DC.  More information can be found at the Tewaaraton Foundation website.
- da Coach

Agree or disagree?
You can send your direct comments to Coach Roy. Or post them on the Purple Boards.
Go Cats - Beat 'em All!
Talk about it on the Purple Boards
[Click Here]
All Materials Copyright 2009 -
Purple Reign/Purple[Wildcats.com

Purple Wildcats Top Stories