Brewer up for national award

Northwestern receiver Andrew Brewer is a semifinalist for the Campbell Trophy, which is awarded to outstanding student athletes in college football. Get details on the award and some other semifinalists.

Courtesy NU Sports.

EVANSTON, Ill. -- Senior Andrew Brewer (Tulsa, Okla./Jenks), a starting wide receiver for Northwestern University, was named one of the 154 semifinalists today for the 2009 William V. Campbell Trophy (formerly known as the Draddy Trophy), endowed by HealthSouth, and a candidate for the 2009 NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards.

"On the heels of our recent announcements to our top scholar-athlete award in honor of Bill Campbell, we are incredibly proud to select the next winner from this remarkable group of semifinalists," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning whose sons Peyton (1997 Campbell Trophy winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively.

"As one of the nation's most influential business leaders, Bill Campbell is a powerful example of football's unique ability to build leadership qualities in our young people. The semifinalists for the Campbell Trophy have already built track records that place them squarely in his footsteps."

Nominated by the University, Brewer has maintained a GPA of at least 3.2, demonstrated impeccable leadership skills, and has been a significant contributor to the Northwestern Wildcats, making him the perfect candidate to represent Northwestern.

"The Campbell Trophy semifinalist represents everything great about college football, having achieved excellence in all aspects of their lives," said NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell. "It is the NFF's duty to promote their accomplishments while encouraging future generations of gridiron standouts to aim high on and off the football field."

The NFF Awards Committee will select and announce up to 15 finalists on Oct. 29. Each finalist will be recognized as part of the 2009 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, receiving as $18,000 postgraduate scholarship. The Campbell Trophy winner, who will have his scholarship increased to $25,000, will be announced live at the NFF's Annual Awards Dinner on December 8 at the prestigious Waldorf=Astoria in New York City. A total distribution of $277,000 in scholarships will be awarded that evening.

In addition to the Manning Brothers, notable NFF National Scholars-Athlete alumni include NFL standout Derrick Brooks (Florida State); actor Mark Harmon (UCLA); NASA astronaut Leland Melvin (Richmond); former Dateline NBC anchor Stone Phillips (Yale); chairman of Augusta National Golf Club, home of the Masters Tournament, Billy Payne (Georgia); famed NFL quarterback Steve Young (BYU); and Heisman Trophy winners Terry Baker (Oregon State), Gary Beban (UCLA); Doug Flutie (Boston College) and Danny Wuerffel (Florida).

Northwestern linebacker Barry Gardner was the last Wildcat player to be honored as an NFF Scholar-Athlete.

Purple Wildcats Top Stories