Rivalry Renewed…a bit early

Notre Dame will meet Miami in the 2010 Sun Bowl, December 31 in El Paso, Texas

The Irish won two of the last three; the Hurricanes six of the last 10. Four times the winner of the contest continued through its slate to claim the National Title. In a consecutive four-year span from 1987-1990, the winner of the ND/Miami contest emerged as the nation's best team and played for at least a part of the national championship.

They haven't met since 1990, a 29-20 victory by Notre Dame in South Bend over then No. 2-Miami, but on Friday, December 31, 2010, the best rivalry of the late 90s will renew in El Paso, Texas when the 7-5 Irish square-off vs. the 7-5 Hurricanes in the Hyundai Sun Bowl. Kickoff is set for 2:15 PM (EST) and the contest will be televised by CBS.

The Irish will fill the side of the matchup designated for the Pac-10 Conference which did not fill its bowl slots. Notre Dame will be the visiting team in the matchup.

The programs are also slated to meet in October 2012 at the neutral site of Soldier Field in Chicago.

In the interim, a Hurricane squad regarded among the nation's top 15 entering the season will search for its new head coach, the replacement for the recently deposed Randy Shannon, a former UM linebacker who started for the Hurricanes in the 1988 classic between the teams in South Bend.

Assistant coach (Offensive line coach) Jeff Stoutland serves as the team's interim leader during its search.

The Irish lead the all-time series 15-7-1. The teams played continuously from 1971-1985 and again from '87-'90.

Irish Eyes will have more on the matchup after tonight's 6 PM (EST) teleconference with Sun Bowl officials and Notre Dame head coach Brian Kelly.

IrishIllustrated.com Top Stories