Come on Down

With Notre Dame's second annual awards show on tap for Friday night, offers its own awards for each category and predicts the official winners as well.

Friday night's festivities at the DeBaratolo Center for Performing Center offer the 2011 Irish a chance to reminisce on its accomplishments this fall. As well, the new fan-friendly format should play well for the two handfuls of prospective student athletes in attendance – not to mention the seven or eight media members on hand.

"Last year we changed the traditional banquet format relative to an awards night," said Irish head coach Kelly of the welcomed change from a banquet/dinner format. "For me, what I wanted to do was recognize our seniors, make sure the night's about our seniors, and do it in a manner where it can be exciting in the sense that there's a lot of video (highlights), a lot of action, interactive if you will, and then awards that our team votes on. And some are picked by the coaches.

"For the large part this will be awards given out by vote by our football team. That's always exciting to see what they think of their own teammates."

And with the exception of the Scout Team Player(s) of the Year, I'm sure we can all agree some should be chosen by, too. Below is my educated guess at the winners plus personal choices and runner-up in each category.

Monogram Club Most Valuable Player

The final choices are crystal clear, though Manti Te'o, Zack Martin, Cierre Wood, Tyler Eifert, and Robert Blanton were in the running for the award at points throughout the season.

Last Year's Winner: Michael Floyd Choice and runner-up: Michael Floyd and Jonas Gray
Predicted Winner: Floyd
Greatest All-Time Recipient(s): Tim Brown 1986 or Rocket Ismail 1990

Nick Pietrosante Award

Given to the player who best exemplifies courage, dedication and pride of the late All-America fullback (class of 1954). Pietrosante died of cancer in 1988. Former winners include program legends Anthony Johnson, Chris Zorich, Demetrious Dubose, Aaron Taylor, and Jeff Faine.

Last Year's Winner: Robert Hughes Choice and runner-up: Jonas Gray and Mike Ragone
Predicted Winner: Gray
Greatest All-Time Recipient: Not something that can be judged outside the program walls, but I'll go with Zorich as a player and Aaron Taylor as a friend.

Guardian of the Year

Instituted in 1999, former offensive tackle Ryan Harris is the only two-time winner…until this season.

Last Year's Winner: Zack Martin Choice and runner-up: Zack Martin and Braxston Cave
Predicted Winner: Martin
Greatest All-Time Recipient: Jeff Faine 2001

Lineman of the Year

The inaugural award was presented to senior linebacker/DE Robert Banks, by first-year head coach Lou Holtz in 1986. Injuries to starters contributed to the list below, and my choice would be the first true freshman to earn the honor.

Last Year's Winner: Ian Williams Choice and runner-up: Aaron Lynch and Louis Nix
Predicted Winner: Lynch
Greatest All-Time Recipient: I'll go with first-team All-America defensive end and national champion Frank Stams (1988) but Chris Zorich (1990), Aaron Taylor (1993), and Anthony Weaver (2001) are fine choices as well.

Next Man In

Robby Toma should receive consideration for his late-year efforts; so too could center Mike Golic. But the pair below contributed at a high level throughout the three-month season. The award was instituted by Kelly last winter.

Last Year's Winner: Tommy Rees Choice and runner-up: Aaron Lynch and Stephon Tuitt
Predicted Winner: Tuitt

Rockne Student-Athlete Award

Applying logic: Te'o and Cwynar were Academic All-District choices in November. As a 5th-year player, Ruffer might not be eligible for the honor a second straight season.

Last Year's Winner: David Ruffer Choice and runner-up: Manti Te'o and Sean Cwynar
Predicted Winner: Te'o
Greatest All-Time Recipient: First presented to offensive guard Bob Burger in 1980, the "greatest" is likely two-time winner Greg Dingens (linebacker, 1984-85). Dingens was a three-time Academic All-American; graduated magna cum laude and earned Phi Beta Kappa honors at Notre Dame. He received post-graduate scholarships from the NCAA and the National Football Foundation. He later graduated cum laude from Harvard Law School in 1992. So yeah, I think he wins.

Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year

My choices were gleaned from interviews with coaches, notably Kelly, rather than practice exposure which was not available after August camp this season. The award is in its second season of existence, as are the remaining four listed below.

Last Year's Winner: Cameron Roberson Choice and runner-up: Everett Golson and DaVaris Daniels
Predicted Winner: Golson

Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year

Question: did walk-on safety Chris Salvi spend enough time on the Scout Team to warrant selection? Or did his starter's designation on special teams take away from full Scout Team duties? I suppose we'll find out…

Last Year's Winner: Kendall Moore Choice and runner-up: Chris Salvi and Jarrett Grace
Predicted Winner: Grace

Offensive Newcomer of the Year

Is starting left guard Chris Watt (117 snaps last season but no starts) a newcomer? Is Jonas Gray (40 snaps)? Is there a requirement that the competitor possess zero previous playing experience? If so, redshirt-freshman quarterback Andrew Hendrix and center Mike Golic (25 snaps last year) are the only other options. Gray's candidacy seems outside the spirit of the award.

Last Year's Winner: Tyler Eifert Choice and runner-up: Chris Watt and Andrew Hendrix
Predicted Winner: Watt

Defensive Newcomer of the Year

There are three deserving candidates from the defensive line alone...

Last Year's Winner: Prince Shembo Choice and runner-up: Louis Nix and Aaron Lynch
Predicted Winner: Nix for his 10-game starting effort in the middle (and the reality that Lynch will likely win another award).

Special Teams Player of the Year

Quick thought: No one on the punt return team will win…

Last Year's Winner: Bennett Jackson Choice and runner-up: George Atkinson and Austin Collinsworth
Predicted Winner: George Atkinson Top Stories