Eifert earns highest honor

Irish juniors Tyler Eifert and Manti Te'o (2nd team) were named yesterday to the prestigious Walter Camp All-America teams

14 months ago today, Tyler Eifert was a backup tight end nursing a shoulder injury, was less than a year removed from back surgery, and could brag about a highlight-reel reception vs. Michigan, the only catch of his collegiate career.

Today, Eifert is the single-season program record-holder for receptions at his position, a John Mackey Award finalist, and has since joined legendary Notre Dame players Rocket Ismail, Chris Zorich, Tim Brown, Ken MacAfee, Ross Browner, Alan Page, Paul Hornung, Johnny Lujack, Creighton Miller, and George Gipp as first-team All-America selections.

He is the school's 185th first team All-America selection (including all teams). Eifert's 713 receiving yards leads all tight ends in 2011, is just one touchdown reception away from tying three time Irish All-America selection Ken MacAfee (6) for the position's scoring record. He needs 85 yards in the Champs Sports Bowl to pass MacAfee (797) for the single-season yardage marks among tight ends.

Only eight Notre Dame players – regardless of position – have recorded more catches than has Tyler Eifert this season (57). Eifert is the first Irish tight end named first team All-America since Derek Brown in 1991.

Eifert's classmate, junior linebacker Manti Te'o, earned second team honors thanks to a 115-tackle season that included 13 stops for loss with a team-high 4.5 sacks.

Te'o is the second Irish ‘backer to be named to the Walter Camp Football Foundation team since 1991 (Courtney Watson, 2002). Te'o was also named a second team Academic All-American this week.

2011 Irish opponents to be named first team Walter Camp All-America include Stanford QB Andrew Luck, Stanford G David DeCastro, Michigan C David Molk, Boston College LB Luke Kuechly, Michigan State DL Jerel Worthy, and future foe, Florida State punter Shawn Powell.

1st Team Walter Camp All-America Selections

First instituted in 1892, Tyler Eifert joins the following program dignitaries, Heisman Trophy Winners, and college football legends with his first-team Walter Camp selection:

  • Golden Tate (2009)
  • Shane Walton (2002)
  • Mike Rosenthal (1998)
  • Bobby Taylor (1994)
  • Jeff Burris (1993)
  • Aaron Taylor (1992-93)
  • Derek Brown and Mirko Jurkovic (1991)
  • Rocket Ismail, Chris Zorich, Todd Lyght, and Michael Stonebreaker (1990)
  • Zorich and Lyght (1989)
  • Stonebreaker (1988)
  • Tim Brown (1987)
  • Bob Crable (1980-81)
  • Vagas Ferguson (1979)
  • Dave Huffman and Bob Golic (1978)
  • Ross Browner, Ken MacAfee, and Luther Bradley (1977)
  • MacAfee, Browner, Bradley (1976)
  • Steve Niehaus (1975)
  • Michael Fanning and Pete Demmerle (1974)
  • Dave Casper and Mike Townsend (1973)
  • Greg Marx (1972)
  • Walt Patulski and Clarence Ellis (1971)
  • Tom Gatewood and Larry DiNardo (1970)
  • Dinardo (1969)
  • Jim Seymour, George Kunz, and Terry Hanratty (1968)
  • Seymour Tom Schoen, and Kevin Hardy (1967)
  • Tom Regner, Alan Page, Jim Lynch (1966)
  • Richard Arrington and Nick Rassas (1965)
  • Jack Snow and John Huarte (1964)
  • Monty Stickles (1959)
  • Al Ecuyer (1957)
  • Paul Hornung (1955)
  • Ralph Guglielmi (1954)
  • Art Hunter and Johnny Lattner (1953)
  • Lattner (1952)
  • Jerry Groom (1950)
  • Leon Hart, Emil Sitko, and Bob Williams (1949)
  • Hart and Bill Fischer (1948)
  • Johnny Lujack and George Connor (1947)
  • Lujack and Connor (1946)
  • Angelo Bertelli, Jim White, Creighton Miller and John Yonaker (1943)
  • Robert Dove (1942)
  • Dove (1941)
  • William Kerr (1939)
  • Earl Brown and Ed Beinor (1938)
  • Beinor (1937)
  • William Shakespeare and Wayne Millner (1935)
  • John Robinson and Regis Monohan (1934)
  • Joseph Kurth (1932)
  • Thomas Yarr and Marchmont Schwartz (1931)
  • Frank Carideo and Marty Brill (1930)
  • Carideo and John Cannon (1929)
  • John P. Smith (1927)
  • Arthur Boeringer (1926)
  • Harry Stuhldreher (1924)
  • George Gipp (1920)

IrishIllustrated.com Top Stories