Casper Elected to Hall…Again

All-time Notre Dame great only member of eligible Irish trio to be selected in 2012.

Elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2002, Notre Dame tight end Dave Casper today joined the College Football Hall of Fame along with 13 other former college stars and three coaches: Jimmy Johnson, Phil Fulmer, and R.C. Slocum.

A consensus All-America pick in 1973 and co-captain of Irish national championship team, Casper played two seasons at offensive tackle under head coach Ara Parseghian before moving to tight end. Dubbed as the best athlete Parseghian had ever seen, Casper was selected in the second round of the 1974 NFL Draft and was the first tight end elected to the NFL Hall of Fame.

Casper earned post-graduate scholarships from the NCAA and National Football Foundation and was selected to CoSIDA Academic All-America Hall of Fame in 1993.

Ex-Notre Dame players on the ballot but not elected were Raghib Ismail (1988-90) and Jim Seymour (1966-68).

2012 Hall of Fame Class

The following players were elected among a group of 76 candidates:

  • Charles Alexander - TB, LSU (1975-78)
  • OTIS ARMSTRONG - HB, Purdue (1970-72)
  • STEVE BARTKOWSKI - QB, California (1972-74)
  • HAL BEDSOLE - SE, Southern California (1961-63)
  • DAVE CASPER - TE, Notre Dame (1971-73)
  • Ty Detmer - QB, BYU (1988-91)
  • TOMMY KRAMER - QB, Rice (1973-76)
  • ART MONK - WR, Syracuse (1976-79)
  • GREG MYERS - DB, Colorado State (1992-95)
  • Jonathan Ogden - OT, UCLA (1992-95)
  • GABE RIVERA - DT, Texas Tech (1979-82)
  • Mark Simoneau - LB, Kansas State (1996-99)
  • Scott Thomas - S, Air Force (1982-85)
  • JOHN WOOTEN* - OG, Colorado (1956-58)
    * Selection from the FBS Veterans Committee Top Stories