Undefeated Honorees

It began decades past as a dinner and awards banquet. Three years ago it was streamlined by then first-year head coach Brian Kelly's into a more entertaining Awards Show. Hereafter the annual end-season ceremony has been dubbed the "Notre Dame Echoes" and Friday night that gathering honored 19 award recipients at the DeBartolo Performing Arts Center on campus.

Two handfuls of 2013 recruits and pledges on hand. No acceptance speeches allowed (unless Louis Nix's one-liner counts, that is). Manti Te'o streamed in live from Manhattan. In-depth highlights of every game, and of course, an emotional senior parents' video tribute to the team's 29 graduating players.

Notre Dame's 92nd annual awards ceremony was heavy on senior honorees, with 12 taking home hardware for the undefeated, top-ranked Irish.

Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year Nominees: Nick Fitzpatrick, Bruce Heggie, Will Mahone
Winner: Nick Fitzpatrick

Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year Nominees: Joe Romano, Joe Schmidt, Tyler Stockton
Winner: Tyler Stockton

Offensive Newcomer of the Year Nominees: DaVaris Daniels, Everett Golson, Christian Lombard, Troy Niklas
Winner: Everett Golson

Defensive Newcomer of the Year Nominees: Sheldon Day, Matthias Farley, Keivarae Russell, Danny Spond
Winner: KeiVarae Russell

Irish Around the Bend Award: The inaugural award recognizes the student-athlete's work in the community and on campus.
Winner: Mike Golic, Jr.

A-Team Award: Accountability, Appreciation, and Achievement
Winner: Kapron Lewis-Moore

Count on Me Award: Inaugural award recognizing the Player that will do whatever it takes to help the team
Winner: Theo Riddick

Father Lange Iron Cross Award: Inaugural award recognizing strength & conditioning excellence. The late Father Bernard Lange was the first unofficial strength coach at Notre Dame (for Ara Parseghian).
Winner: Braxston Cave

Special Teams Player of the Year Award : Kyle Brindza

Nick Pietrosante Award: First presented in 1988 to captain Andy Heck, the award recognizes the Notre Dame player who best exemplifies the courage, loyalty, teamwork, dedication and pride of the late Irish All-America fullback.
Winners: John Goodman and Robby Toma

Moose Krause Lineman of the Year: Stephon Tuitt and Louis Nix. Said Nix of the honor, "I'd like to thank my mother for this award. She had one beautiful son and he was here tonight."

Guardian of the Year: Zack Martin (his third straight such honor)

Rockne Student-Athlete: Danny Spond

Next Man In: Tommy Rees

Offensive Player of the Year: Tyler Eifert

Defensive Player of the Year: Zeke Motta

Monogram Club MVP: Manti Te'o

IrishIllustrated.com Top Stories