Martin, Nix named to Outland Trophy List

Two more Irish players racked up pre-season accolades on Thursday as the Outland Trophy Watch List was announced.

Notre Dame offensive tackle Zack Martin and defensive tackle Louis Nix were both named to the 2013 Outland Trophy Watch List on Thursday. The award is given to college football's top interior lineman each year.

Martin is a fifth-year senior and was one of four captains on the 2012 Irish team. He was named a second-team Walter Camp All American after helping anchor the Irish's offensive line during its undefeated regular season.

This is one of many pre-season honors for Nix. The senior has already been named to the Outland Trophy Watch List, Bednarik Award Watch List, Maxwell Award Watch List, and the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List.

Nix led all Notre Dame defensive linemen in 2012 with 50 tackles on the season. He posted 7.5 tackles for loss, two sacks. His five pass breakups were the most of any player on the team. He was a third-team All American.

Two 2013 Irish opponents each boast three players on the list.

Stanford guards David Yankey and Kevin Danser and offensive tackle Cameron Fleming were all recognized. The offensive linemen look to anchor a Cardinal front that is among the most experienced and physical in the nation.

USC also has a strong presence with offensive tackle Kevin Graf, guard John Martinez, and defensive tackle Leonard Williams all on the list. Williams had eight tackles in last season's matchup with Notre Dame.

Other Irish opponents on the 75-player list include Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald, Michigan offensive tackle Taylor Lewan, BYU defensive tackle Eathyn Manumaleuna, and Arizona State defensive tackle Will Sutton.

Florida State leads the list with four selections.

Notre Dame defensive end Stephon Tuitt is not eligible for the Outland Trophy because he is not an interior lineman, but he, along with Nix, was named to the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List on Thursday. The award is given to college football's defensive player of the year.

Former Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o won the Bronko Nagurski Trophy last season. Top Stories