Four Irish On Lombardi Award Watch List

Louis Nix, Stephon Tuitt, Prince Shembo, and Zack Martin are all racking up more pre-season praise. Today, they were named to the 2013 Lombardi Award Watch List.

As watch list season continues into its final week, four Notre Dame players were named to the 2013 Lombardi Award Watch List on Monday. The award is given to college football's best lineman or linebacker.

Notre Dame's four selections--Zack Martin, Prince Shembo, Louis Nix, and Stephon Tuitt--are tied with 2013 Irish opponent Stanford for the second most of any team.

Shembo, Nix, and Tuitt look to anchor a highly-touted Notre Dame defense. Shembo and Tuitt are tied for the most sacks (14.0) among active Notre Dame players. Nix led the defensive line with 50 tackles last season.

On the other side of the ball, Martin will serve as the most experienced player on the offensive front. The fifth-year senior served as a team captain in 2012 and was named a second-team Walter Camp All American.

Not surprisingly, Alabama leads the list of over 100 players with 5 selections.

Former Notre Dame defensive end Aaron Lynch is another notable name on the list. Lynch left Notre Dame after his freshman season to transfer to South Florida. This will be Lynch's first season playing for USF after sitting out last year.

Former Irish linebacker Manti Te'o won the Lombardi Award last season. Top Stories