Tuitt, Nix named to Walter Camp Watch List

Friday is the last day of preseason award watch lists in college football, and Notre Dame closed out strong.

Notre Dame defensive linemen Louis Nix and Stephon Tuitt were named to the 2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year Award Watch List on Friday.

The award is given to college football's best player, voted on by the FBS head coaches and sports information directors.

Nix, a senior nose tackle, started 11 of the Irish's 13 games in 2012. He recorded 50 tackles, the most of any Notre Dame defensive lineman. Nix added 7.5 tackles for loss, two sacks, and five bass breakups. He was named a third-team All-American at the end of the season.

Tuitt, a junior defensive end, started all 13 games for Notre Dame last season. He recorded 47 tackles, 13 tackles for loss, three forced fumbles, one fumble recovery, and one blocked kick. He also led the team in sacks (12.0). He is tied with Irish linebacker Prince Shembo for the most sacks among active Notre Dame players (14.0). Tuitt was named a and first-team All-American last season.

Alabama had the most players of any school on the list. The two-time defending national champions had four selections: running back T.J. Yeldon, linebacker C.J. Mosley, quarterback A.J. McCarron, and wide receiver Amari Cooper.

Notre Dame opponents on the list of 50 players are USC's Marqise Lee and Silas Redd, Arizona State's Will Sutton, BYU's Kyle Van Noy.

Lee was a finalist for the award last season, along with Texas A&M's Johhny Manziel and Irish linebacker Manti Te'o. Te'o won the award.

Te'o became just the third defensive player to ever win the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award in 2012. Pittsburgh's Hugh Green won in 1980, and Michigan's Charles Woodson won in 1997.

Te'o was the fourth Notre Dame player to win the award. Tight end Ken MacAfee won in 1977, wide receiver Tim Brown won in 1987, and wide receiver Raghib "Rocket" Ismail won in 1990. Top Stories