Irish, Buckeyes to meet twice

Notre Dame and Ohio State will knock heads in a home-and-home series beginning in 2022.

Midwest football fans can mark their calendars for September. 3, 2022 and September 23, 2023 for the first regular season matchups between the Buckeyes and Irish since the 1995 and 1996 seasons.

As with those games, the initial contest will be played at Ohio Stadium in Columbus, with a trip to South Bend and the House that Rockne Built to follow. Both mid-90s meetings were won by the higher ranked and favored Buckeyes, as was a 2006 Fiesta Bowl matchup between the programs.

"I am excited we are able once again to bring these two programs together on the football field," said Notre Dame vice president and athletics director Jack Swarbrick to UND.COM. "Football games between Notre Dame and Ohio State make great sense from a strength-of-schedule standpoint. In addition, with (Ohio State athletics director) Gene Smith having both played and coached football at Notre Dame, and with (Ohio State head coach) Urban Meyer having served as an assistant football coach at Notre Dame, there are some obvious, high-profile connections between our two institutions."

Notre Dame head coach Brian Kelly also offered his thoughts on the significance of the future matchups.

"Any time you talk about Notre Dame and Ohio State meeting in a football game, that event automatically is going to have huge national significance," said Kelly. "For fans and alumni of the two schools, not to mention college football fans in general, these games will be great attractions."

The Irish trail the all-time series, 3-2, winning consecutively in 1935 and 1936.

According to Notre Dame's release, the two institutions also share in a scholarship fund that benefits students from the state of Ohio who attend either Notre Dame or Ohio State. The Joyce Scholars program, funded by the Glenna R. Joyce Trust Fund, provides four-year full scholarships to outstanding students from 115 central Ohio high schools (within seven counties) who attend either Notre Dame or Ohio State. The Joyce Scholar program began in 1961. Top Stories