Scholarship Chart: Tight Fit

Irish Illustrated puts Notre Dame’s scholarship crunch in perspective as space on the roster will be at a premium next season. That’s a good thing for Brian Kelly’s program.

Notre Dame wants five more prospects in its next recruiting class.

Getting there will not only take a near-perfect finish during the final weeks of this recruiting cycle, it will also take some creative math by Brian Kelly to keep Notre Dame under the 85-man scholarship limit.

With Daelin Hayes and Devin Studstill added to the board following their December commitments, the Irish are now over the NCAA limit on our Scholarship Chart, which is Irish Illustrated’s best guess about how the roster will shake out next season.

Our projections have Jaylon Smith, KeiVarae Russell and Ronnie Stanley all NFL-bound but Will Fuller and C.J. Prosise returning. Quarterback Montgomery VanGorder is also on scholarship, but Kelly has made it clear that’s a year-to-year situation. Should Prosise and Fuller depart and VanGorder go back to walk-on status, Notre Dame should have little problem ultimately getting under the 85-man limit.

In recruiting terms, that means Notre Dame could add four-star receiver Javon McKinley, five-star linebacker Caleb Kelly and four-star defensive back Jordan Fuller without stretching the roster.

And remember that based on historical precedent that a transfer or dismissal from the program is all but certain. It’s happened every off-season for the past 35 years.

Here’s our updated look at Notre Dame’s potential roster breakdown for next season sorted by eligibility and position.

QB Ian Book

DeShone Kizer*
Montgomery VanGorder*
Brandon Wimbush

Malik Zaire*  
RB Deon McIntosh
Tony Jones Jr.
Josh Adams
Justin Brent*
Dexter Williams
Tarean Folston# CJ Prosise*
WR Miles Boykin*
Chase Claypool
Kevin Stepherson
C.J. Sanders
Equanimeous St. Brown
Corey Holmes
Torii Hunter Jr.#
Will Fuller
Corey Robinson
TE   Alize Jones
Nic Weishar*
Tyler Luatua
Durham Smythe*
OT Liam Eichenberg
Tommy Kraemer
Alex Bars* Hunter Bivin*
Mike McGlinchey*
OG Parker Boudreaux
Trevor Ruhland*
Jimmy Byrne*
Quenton Nelson*
Colin McGovern#
John Montelus#
Steve Elmer
C Tristen Hoge* Sam Mustipher*    
DE Jamir Jones
Khalid Kareem
Ade Ogundeji
Julian Okwara
Grant Blankenship
Doug Randolph#
Andrew Trumbetti
Isaac Rochell
DT Micah Dew-Treadway*
Elijah Taylor*
Brandon Tiassum*
Jonathan Bonner*
Jay Hayes*
Pete Mokwuah*
Jerry Tillery
Daniel Cage
Jacob Matuska*
Jarron Jones*
LB Josh Barajas*
Asmar Bilal*
Daelin Hayes
Te’Von Coney Greer Martini
Nyles Morgan
James Onwualu
CB Shaun Crawford#
Julian Love
Donte Vaughn
Ashton White*
Nick Coleman Nick Watkins Devin Butler
Cole Luke
S Jalen Elliott
D.J. Morgan
Spencer Perry
Devin Studstill
Mykelti Williams*
Nicco Fertitta
Drue Tranquill#
  Max Redfield
Avery Sebastian#
ST John Shannon Tyler Newsome*
Justin Yoon
  Scott Daly*
Total 31/85 55/85 73/85 85/85

* Has taken a red-shirt season to preserve a year of eligibility

# Took a medical red-shirt season

Updated: 12/17/15 Top Stories