Buckeyes Dominate All-Big Ten Voting

Ohio State had a banner 2010 on the field and now in the Big Ten's postseason awards. Ten Buckeyes have been named first-team All-Big Ten, highlighting a season in which OSU went 11-1 (7-1 Big Ten) and won a share of a sixth straight conference championship.

It's a good day to be a Buckeye.

The 2010 Big Ten all-conference team came out Monday evening and 10 different members of the Ohio State football team have been named to the first-team squad. Running back Dan Herron, wideout Dane Sanzenbacher, left tackle Mike Adams, left guard Justin Boren, center Michael Brewster, defensive end Cameron Heyward, linebacker Brian Rolle, cornerback Chimdi Chekwa and safety Jermale Hines were so honored.

On the coaches' ballot, Herron, Sanzenbacher, Adams, Heyward, Rolle, Homan, Chekwa, and Hines make first team, while Brewster and Boren were second team picks.

The media tabbed Sanzenbacher, Brewster, Adams, Boren, Heyward, Rolle and Chekwa as first-teamers. Kicker Devin Barclay made an appearance on the second team along with Homan and Hines.

Among honorable mention choices, the coaches pegged Barclay along with quarterback Terrelle Pryor, wideout DeVier Posey and defensive lineman Johnny Simon. Herron, Pryor, Posey and Simon were so honored by the media.

The coaches also selected OSU co-captain and right guard Bryant Browning as its sportsmanship honoree.

Seven of the first-team choices are seniors, while nine of 10 are first-time honorees. Boren made the 2009 first team, while Herron, Adams and Brewster have eligibility remaining.

The 10 first-teamers ties five other Ohio State teams for third on the school's all-time list. The 1969 and '75 teams each had 11.

Herron finished the season on a hot streak, averaging more than 100 yards per conference contest and running for 175 yards vs. Michigan. he finished the year with 192 carries for 1,068 yards (a 5.6-yard average) along with 15 touchdowns.

"This honor is just a blessing and a dream come true," he said. "It belongs also to my teammates at running back and all our offensive linemen."

Sanzenbacher was one of the most dependable receivers in the Big Ten, finishing second in yards per game at 74.1. He caught 52 passes for 889 yards and 10 scores.

"It's a huge honor to be selected for the all-conference team in a league with so much great talent across the board as the Big Ten," Sanzenbacher said.

On the offensive line, Adams emerged as a standout left tackle, helping Boren and Brewster pave the way for the team to rush for 219.7 yards per game and score 39.4 points, second in the league.

"This is a huge honor," Boren said. "I am humbled to be chosen with all the great talent in the Big Ten this year."

On defense, Ohio State finished atop the league with only 13.3 yards per game and led the conference in rush defense, pass defense and yards allowed.

Heyward had an excellent senior season after choosing to come back, making 42 tackles, 9.5 for loss, along with an interception and a fumble recovery.

"An honor like this means the world to me," Heyward said. "To say that I am All-Big Ten is truly a blessing because that was one of my goals from the day I entered college. I have always wanted to be a part of that elite group."

Homan made the All-Big Ten team despite missing almost three games in the middle of the year with a foot injury. He and Rolle have been an excellent one-two punch in the middle of the field for OSU, with Rolle leading the team with 70 tackles and Homan right behind with 63. Rolle also had a team-best 10 TFL and tacked on two interceptions, while Homan forced two fumbles, recovered one and had a pick of his own.

"I am humbled and a little overwhelmed," Homan said, "and to have so many Buckeyes on the team is really sweet."

"Thank you, Jesus, for all the opportunities, and thanks to my teammates and coaches for all we have done together," Rolle said.

Chekwa was picked on by fans occasionally but ended up with 42 tackles and a team-high three picks, while Hines played both safety and nickelback and was excellent at both spots. He made 61 tackles while also recovering a fumble and picking off a pass.

"Wow! This is an amazing honor and a dream come true," Hines said.

Barclay stepped up in his senior year to make the second team, booting through 19 of 22 field goals with a long of 48 yards.

Fellow Big Ten champion Wisconsin had five players honored on the first team, while Michigan State had four.

Despite not making the first or second team on the coaches' ballot, Denard Robinson of Michigan was named their offensive player of the year. Northwestern's Dan Persa was the coaches' first-team choices while Wisconsin's Scott Tolzien was second.

Robinson also earned the media's vote, and the top defensive player honor also went to the same person in both polls, Purdue defensive end Ryan Kerrigan. Wisconsin RB James White was tabbed by both as the freshman of the year.

The coaches voted Wisconsin left tackle Gabe Carimi its top offensive lineman, while Kerrigan got the top DL choice. The media voted Michigan State's Mark Dantonio, who suffered a heart attack midseason, its top coach, leaving OSU's Jim Tressel out in the cold yet again.

Buckeye Sports Top Stories