OSU Players Grab Conference Honors

The Ohio State basketball team had multiple honorees when Big Ten awards were announced on Monday evening. Jared Sullinger was one, as he was named by both the conference's coaches and media as a First-Team All-Big Ten selection. Get all the results inside.

For the second consecutive year, the conference's media and coaches honored Ohio State big man Jared Sullinger as a first-team All-Big Ten selection.

Michigan State forward Draymond Green, Purdue forward Robbie Hummel and Northwestern forward John Shurna joined Sullinger on both lists while Wisconsin point guard Jordan Taylor (coaches) and Penn State guard Tim Frazier (media) rounded out the first-teams.

The Big Ten Player of the Year was awarded to Green, who became the favorite to take home the top honor despite being closely contended by Sullinger. Green led Michigan State to a share of the Big Ten regular-season title, averaging 16.2 points, 10.3 rebounds and 3.5 assists per game.

Ohio State sophomore point guard Aaron Craft was named as the conference's Defensive Player of the Year, while Michigan State head coach Tom Izzo was named Coach of the Year. Purdue swingman D.J. Byrd was voted Sixth Man of the Year.

Craft was also an honorable mention by the coaches, while OSU senior guard William Buford made both second teams. Sophomore forward Deshaun Thomas made the coaches' second team.

Michigan point guard Trey Burke (media) and Indiana big man Cody Zeller (coaches) split Freshman of the Year honors.

Follow Me on Twitter and find us on Facebook.

Buckeye Sports Top Stories