Ohio North-South Classic DI-DIII Team South

A look at the Ohio DI-DIII South roster for Saturday's annual Ohio North-South Classic to be played at 4:00 p.m. at Dayton's Welcome Stadium.

South head coach Bob DeLong (Xenia) will have a lot of talent to work with as he guides the South Division I-III team Saturday in the Ohio North-South Classic.

With a new format in 2013, more of Ohio’s top players will put on the pads one final time and represent their school and region in the long running classic.

DeLong will have players from Division One through Division Three to work with and many future college standouts are expected to participate.

Note: This article is based on the roster released to the media prior to the game and is subject to change.


Leading the South squad will be Kent State signee quarterback Nathan Strock (Dresden Tri-Valley).  The 6-foot-4, 190-pound signal caller could also share time with Ohio State bound Darron Lee (New Albany) who is listed as a defensive back on the roster.

Whoever is behind center will have a solid offensive line to protect them led by Cincinnati Colerain standout Dylan Wiesman (Tennessee) and Springboro standout Sean Welsh (Iowa).   Filling out the line will be Carson Baker (Fairborn / Pittsburgh), Kyle Meadows (Lakota West / Kentucky), Cole Newsome (Wayne / Youngstown State), Elijah Nkansah (Mason / Toledo) and Cole Tameris (Sycamore / Ohio Dominican).

The South will have some top targets to throw to with Austin Wolf (Lebanon / Akron), Jesse Bray (Wayne / Tiffin), Jake Johnson (Springboro / Ohio), David Roberts (Xenia), Matt Petrella (Steubenville) and tight end Troy Mangen (Northmont / Ohio) all capable of making big plays.

At running back the South will look for Northwestern signee Godwin Igwebuike to show why he’s considered one of the biggest steals coming out of the Buckeye state in the 2013 recruiting class.  He’ll be joined by E.J. Jennings (Hilliard Davidson /  Ashland) and Austin Jones (Dresden Tri-Valley / Otterbein).


The South defense looks just as talented led by Lee who will be joined in the secondary by Michigan signee Reon Dawson (Trotwood), Caleb Day (Hilliard Darby / Illinois), Dejuan Lang (Colerain / Indiana State), Caleb Miller (Franklin / Tiffin) and Anthony Sumpter (Elida / Ohio Dominican).

At linebacker the South will look for Cincinnati signee Rasheen Jones and Indiana signee Marcus Oliver to make big plays.  They’ll be joined by Mitchell Larson (Xenia), Quentin Poling (Elida / Ohio), Dashon Redman (Steubenville) and Mitchell Rowell (Gahanna / West Virginia State).

In the trenches the South will look for a pair of Centerville products to lead the way as Iowa signee Brant Gressel and teammate Jake Replogle (Purdue) are both headed to the Big Ten.   They’ll be joined up front by Emmanuel Beal (Reynoldsburg), Miles McCollum (Dublin Coffman / Harvard) and Maynard Reed (Steubenville).


Handling the kicking duties for the South will be Moeller standout Sam Geraci who is headed to the Air Force Academy.

Buckeye Sports Top Stories