Buckeyes Pick Eight Game Captains

Ohio State announced its captains Tuesday night, but it won't be a traditional setup for the Buckeyes. OSU will have eight game captains with permanent choices selected at the end of the season.

For the 124th season of Ohio State football, the Buckeyes will use eight "game captains" and wait until the end of the 2013 campaign to name its official captains.

OSU head coach Urban Meyer announced the eight-man captaincy decision following Tuesday's practice session. The group of game captains will include fifth-year senior left tackle Jack Mewhort, fifth-year senior center Corey Linsley, fifth-year senior quarterback Kenny Guiton, fifth-year senior safety C.J. Barnett, senior safety Christian Bryant, senior receiver Corey Brown and junior quarterback Braxton Miller and junior linebacker Ryan Shazier.

"It's the first time I've done something like this," Meyer said in an OSU release. "We had eight individuals receive a lot of votes, and all were within 12 votes of each other. So they'll lead us into each game as captains and at the end of the year a decision will be made as to who will be the season's captains."

Members of the media spoke with four of the eight game captains – Shazier, Barnett, Brown and Mewhort – on Monday prior to the team vote.

When asked about the captaincy, Mewhort and Barnett were reluctant to comment on the possibility of the voting process ending in their favor. Both agreed it would be an honor to act captains, though.

"If I were to be named a captain at Ohio State that would be one of the greatest honors I could ever receive," Mewhort said. "I don't want to talk too much about that whole process – that's Coach Meyer's thing – but that would definitely be a huge deal for me."

Barnett, who at first said he had no idea how his teammates would vote, added, "If I was a captain, it'd mean a lot," he said. "It'd be a great thing to lead the team and walk out there and be a captain at the Ohio State University."

Ohio State had five senior captains a season ago, including Jordan Hall, who ended up receiving a medical redshirt and returning for 2013. He is not on the list of eight.

Buckeye Sports Top Stories