Rowers Capture Second Straight NCAA Title

The Ohio State rowing team made it its goal to repeat as NCAA champions in 2014 and did just that, winning two individual national titles on the way to a first-place finish for the second year in a row at the NCAA meet.

One year after being the hunter, the Ohio State rowing team went to this year's NCAA championships as the hunted.

It didn't matter. The Buckeyes still left Indianapolis as NCAA champions.

Ohio State won all three of its races on Sunday -- two of them for national championships -- to capture the NCAA rowing title for the second straight year, accumulating 126 points for the meet.

The First Varsity Eight boat, which is worth the most points at the NCAA meet, clinched the title and an undefeated 12-0 season when it pulled away from a field of the nation's best crews. The crew of Aina Cid Centelles, Elodie Ravera, Eelkje Miedema, Ashley Bauer, Stephanie Williams, Catherine Shields, Holly Norton, Claire-Louise Bode and coxswain Victoria Lazur crossed the line in 6:44.476, nearly four seconds ahead of second place Brown, to win by a boat length.

It was the boat's first-ever national title.

Meanwhile, the Second Varsity Eight repeated as national champions and vaulted OSU into first place in the penultimate race of the day.

Daphne Socha, Chloe Meyer, Nicole Becks, Lauren Eckles, Meghan Birkbeck, Anne Dietrich, Katie King, Taylore Urban and coxswain Sami Jurofsky raced from fourth at the fourth at the first split to first, crossing the line in 6:59.434 to best Princeton by more than two seconds.

The First Varsity Four entered the day in the Petite Final but won that to earn a seventh-place team finish. The crew of Sarah Kessler, Anna Ralph, Anna Gackowski, Katie Beletskaya and coxswain Sarah Asad finished more than two seconds ahead of Michigan with a time of 7:53.049.

It is just the second NCAA championship in a women's sport in OSU history, with the program capturing the first last year.

Buckeye Sports Top Stories