Bosa, Barrett Lead All-Big Ten Contingent

J.T. Barrett and Joey Bosa, respectively named the Big Ten's top quarterback and defensive linemen, led Ohio State as the All-Big Ten teams were released Monday night. Four Buckeyes earned first-team honors while eight were honored in total.

Led by the Big Ten's top quarterback in J.T. Barrett and its best defensive lineman in Joey Bosa, Ohio State picked up some impressive honors as the All-Big Ten teams were named Monday night.

Barrett was chosen as the winner of the Griese-Brees Award as the Big Ten's quarterback of the year as a redshirt freshman while Bosa captured the Smith–Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year honor.

Both were also named as choices to the first-team All-Big Ten squads by both the media and coaches.

Barrett, who head coach Urban Meyer says should go to New York for the Heisman Trophy ceremony after setting a Big Ten record with 45 touchdowns responsible for, set a number of school records this season on the way to being named the league's top QB.

Barrett set OSU single-season records for touchdown passes with 34 and total offense with 3,772 while also settle school marks for most rushing yards for a QB in a game (189 at Minnesota) and (86 at MIN). He finished his campaign with 171 rushes for 938 yards and 11 touchdowns while going 204 for 314 (64.6 percent) for 2,834 yards with 10 interceptions.

He is the third consecutive winner of the award from Ohio State following Braxton Miller, whose August shoulder injury pushed Barrett into the starting lineup.

Bosa, meanwhile, is the odds-on favorite to be named the league's defensive player of the year tomorrow night after leading the way with 13.5 sacks and 20 tackles for loss. A finalist for both the Lombardi (best lineman) and Bednarik (top defensive player) awards, Bosa has 46 tackles this year and four forced fumbles to go with his impressive TFL stats.

The sophomore has a chance to break some Ohio State records as he is six shy of Mike Vrabel’s single-season record for tackles for loss and just a half sack off the single-season record for sacks set by Vernon Gholston in 2007.

The sophomore has recorded a tackle for loss in 18 of his last 19 games, including an Ohio State record-tying streak of 14 straight games.

He follows an illustrious list of winners from Ohio State that includes John Simon (2012), Vernon Gholston (2007), Will Smith (2003), Mike Vrabel (1995 and '96), Dan Wilkinson (1993) and Bosa's uncle, Eric Kumerow (1986).

Among other winners, sophomore Pat Elflein was named a first-team All-Big Ten choice by league coaches. In his first year as a starter, Elflein helped OSU put together a rebuilt rushing attack that is placed 11th in the nation with 257.4 yards per game.

On the defensive side of the ball, Ohio State's other first-team All-Big Ten choice was cornerback Doran Grant, who was placed on the coaches' team. Grant posted 48 tackles, three interceptions and seven pass breakups during his senior year.

Tackle Taylor Decker and tight end Jeff Heuerman (17 catches, 202 yards, two TDs) are both consensus second-team All-Big Ten choices for the OSU offense, while Elflein was also on the media's second team. Defensively, Grant made the media's second team, where he was joined by defensive lineman Michael Bennett (31 tackles, 8.5 TFL, four sacks) and linebacker Joshua Perry (108 tackles, 8.5 TFL, three tackles, FF, INT). Bennett was also named to the coaches' second team.

Superlatives including the league's offensive and defensive player of the year honors and the coach of the year award will be announced Tuesday night.

Buckeye Sports Top Stories