Tressel Named College Football Hall Of Famer

In a day that was only going to take a matter of time, former Ohio State head coach Jim Tressel is going into the College Football Hall of Fame. The former coach is being honored for a body of work that includes his time at Youngstown State as well as at OSU, a tenure that included five national championships.

Former Ohio State head coach Jim Tressel is going into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Tressel was one of the coaches selected for the divisional ranks this year thanks to an outstanding résumé that included four national championships at Youngstown State and another at OSU.

He was listed among 25 coaches up for selection on the Divisional Coaches Candidate list, which honors coaches for their work below the top level of college football.

Before his time at Ohio State, he coached Youngstown State to four Division I-AA national titles during a 15-year tenure. His career record at both stops is 229-79-2, and Tressel was also the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year at both OSU and with the Penguins.

After serving as an assistant at Ohio State under Earle Bruce, Tressel took over at Youngstown State in 1986 and build the Penguins into a power. He won his first national championship in 1991 before adding crowns in 1993, ’94 and ’97 while also losing title games in 1992 and 1999.

Tressel also, of course, had one of the most decorated careers in history for a Buckeye coach. He won 106 games in his 10 seasons, leading the Buckeyes to shares of seven Big Ten titles as well as eight BCS bowl appearances, six top-five finishes, three national title games and the 2002 national championship while also playing for the honor in ’06 and ’07, giving him nine title game appearances.

His OSU tenure ended in controversy when it was found he had not reported what he knew about NCAA violations committed by multiple players to his superiors. He was forced out of the school as part of the "Tatgate" controversy in May 2011 and eventually handed a five-year show-cause penalty by the NCAA. Since, he has become president at Youngstown State after serving in an administrative role at the University of Akron.

The Buckeyes on the players ballot were Keith Byars, Tom Cousineau and Jim Otis.

Buckeye Sports Top Stories