Stieber, Bauer Named Athletes Of The Year

After national championship seasons, Logan Stieber and Ashley Bauer have been named Ohio State's athletes of the year by the school.

Logan Stieber won just about every award it was possible to win while leading Ohio State to its first-ever wrestling national championship in 2015.

Now, the NCAA's fourth-ever four-time national champion has another award for his mantel.

Stieber was named Ohio State's Male Athlete of the Year on Wednesday after finishing an undefeated season at 141 pounds and becoming the most decorated wrestler in OSU history. In a year in which Ohio State has celebrated a record five team national championships, he was joined on the women's side by rower Ashley Bauer, who helped the Buckeyes to a third consecutive NCAA crown.

The two will be placed on the ballots for the Big Ten Male and Female Athlete of the Year awards, presented later this month.

Stieber's accomplishments are almost too numerous to list after he ripped through the NCAA tournament for the fourth consecutive year, beating Edinboro's Mitchell Port for the title. He is the first wrestler in the history of the Big Ten to win four NCAA titles; the first Buckeye in history to win the Dan Hodge Trophy, presented to the nation's top wrestler and considered to be the Heisman Trophy of the sport; the first Ohio State wrestler to ever win four Big Ten titles; and the NCAA's Most Dominant Wrestler and the NWCA Most Outstanding Wrestler.

The fastest Buckeye ever to reach 100 wins, Stieber's winning percentage ranks first in OSU history (.975) and he finished his career on a 50-match winning streak dating back to December 2013.

Stieber is the third Buckeye to win Ohio State Male Athlete of the Year twice in his career. Having won the award as a junior in 2014, the Monroeville, Ohio, native joins Jim Jackson (basketball, 1991-92) and Jamie Natalie (gymnastics, 2000-01) as two-time winners. He is one of only two wrestlers, along with current assistant coach J Jaggers (2009), to win the award.

A native of New Albany, Ohio, Bauer helped the Buckeyes to their third consecutive NCAA team title this season as Ohio State became the first school in NCAA rowing history to win three national championships in a row. The 2015 Big Ten Rowing Athlete of the Year rowed in the five-seat of Ohio State’s First Varsity Eight, which won Big Ten and NCAA titles on its way to an undefeated season at 49-0 overall and 15-0 in races. Bauer collected first-team All-America, All-Big Ten and All-Central Region honors as a senior in 2015.

Bauer is the third consecutive member of the rowing team to be named Ohio State Female Athlete of the Year, joining Claire-Louise Bode (2013) and current junior Catherine Shields (2014).

Ohio State Male Athletes of the Year
1982 - Art Schlichter, Football
1983 - Chris Perry, Golf
1984 - John Frank, Football
1985 - Robert Playter, Gymnastics
1986 - Mike Lanese, Football
1987 - Butch Reynolds, Track & Field
1988 - Chris Spielman, Football
1989 - Joe Greene, Track & Field
1990 - Mike Rancanelli, Gymnastics
1991 - Jim Jackson, Basketball
1992 - Jim Jackson, Basketball
1993 - Chris Nelloms, Track & Field
1994 - Chris Sanders, Track & Field
1995 - Blaine Wilson, Gymnastics
1996 - * Eddie George, Football
1997 - * Blaine Wilson, Gymnastics
1998 - Hugo Boisvert, Hockey
1999 - Scoonie Penn, Basketball
2000 - Jamie Natalie, Gymnastics
2001 - Jamie Natalie, Gymnastics
2002 - Raj Bhavsar, Gymnastics
2003 - Craig Krenzel, Football
2004 - Dan Taylor, Track & Field
2005 - Mike Nugent, Football
2006 - A.J. Hawk, Football
2007 - Troy Smith, Football
2008 - Andras Horanyi, Fencing
2009 - J Jaggers, Wrestling
2010 - Evan Turner, Basketball
2011 - Steven Kehoe, Volleyball
2012 - Zain Shaito, Fencing
2013 - Blaz Rola, Tennis
2014 - Logan Stieber, Wrestling
2015 - Logan Stieber, Wrestling
* Recipient of the Big Ten Jesse Owens Award as the conference's male athlete of the year

Female Athletes of the Year
1983 - Cathy Kratzert, Golf
1984 - Sarah Josephson, Synchronized Swimming
1985 - Yvette Angel, Basketball
1986 - Tracey Hall, Basketball
1987 - Karen LaFace, Diving
1988 - Bridgette Tate, Track & Field
1989 - Nikita Lowry, Basketball
1990 - Susan Gottlieb, Swimming
1991 - Holly O'Leary, Volleyball
1992 - Leisa Wissler, Volleyball
1993 - Audrey Burcy, Basketball
1994 - Katie Smith, Basketball
1995 - # Laura Davis, Volleyball
1996 - Katie Smith, Basketball
1997 - Amy Langhals, Golf
1998 - Vanessa Wouters, Volleyball
1999 - Dominque Calloway, Track & Field
2000 - Donica Merriman, Track & Field
2001 - Donica Merriman, Track & Field
2002 - Anna Smith, Softball
2003 - Stacey Gordon, Volleyball
2004 - Allison Hanna, Golf
2005 - Stacey Gordon, Volleyball
2006 - Jessica Davenport, Basketball
2007 - # Jessica Davenport, Basketball
2008 - Teresa Meyer, Pistol
2009 - Jantel Lavender, Basketball
2010 - Sam Marder, Softball
2011 - Jantel Lavender, Basketball
2012 - # Christina Manning, Track & Field
2013 - Claire-Louise Bode, Rowing
2014 - Catherine Shields, Rowing
2015 - Ashley Bauer, Rowing
# Recipient of the Big Ten Award as the conference's female athlete of the year

Buckeye Sports Top Stories