Logan Stieber Named Top Big Ten Athlete

There are thousands of male athletes in the Big Ten and only one each year can be the best, and this year that was Ohio State's Logan Stieber. The four-time NCAA champ won the Big Ten Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year honor Wednesday.

If Logan Stieber has a mantel, he might need another to hold all the trophies he's won since becoming just the fourth NCAA wrestler all-time to win four national titles.

On the same day he was named a finalist for the ESPY for best male college athlete, the Ohio State wrestler was named the winner of the prestigious Big Ten Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year honor, becoming just the fourth Buckeye all-time to capture the honor since it was established in 1982.

Stieber capped his record-breaking career in March by ripping through the NCAA tournament for the fourth consecutive year, beating Edinboro's Mitchell Port for the title. He is the first wrestler in the history of the Big Ten to win four NCAA titles; the first Buckeye in history to win the Dan Hodge Trophy, presented to the nation's top wrestler and considered to be the Heisman Trophy of the sport; the first Ohio State wrestler to ever win four Big Ten titles; and the NCAA's Most Dominant Wrestler and the NWCA Most Outstanding Wrestler.

The fastest Buckeye ever to reach 100 wins, Stieber's winning percentage ranks first in OSU history (.975) and the Monroeville, Ohio, native finished his career on a 50-match winning streak dating back to December 2013.

Now attempting to qualify for the Olympics, Stieber joins Eddie George (1996), Blaine Wilson (1997) and Evan Turner (2010) as Buckeyes to capture the honor.

Maryland lacrosse standout Taylor Cummings was tabbed the Big Ten Female Athlete of the Year, besting a field that included Ohio State rower Ashley Bauer.

Buckeye Sports Top Stories