Bosa Paces OSU In Defensive Honors

Joey Bosa was named Big ten's defensive lineman of the year.

For the second straight season Ohio State defensive end Joey Bosa was named the best defensive lineman in the Big Ten, the conference announced Monday.

Through 12 games the defensive end has 47 tackles, 16.0 tackles for loss and 5.0 sacks despite receiving plenty of attention from opposing offensive lines. For those efforts the Buckeye junior was named the Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of The Year.

He was also a first-team all-conference selection. Bosa missed out on the conference's defensive player of the year award, an honor that went to Penn State's Carl Nassib.

Joining Bosa in receiving a defensive honor from the conference were linebackers Joshua Perry and Raekwon McMillan, who were each named to the conference' first-team defense. Linebacker Darron Lee was a second-team selection.

Safety Vonn Bell was also a first-team selection. Bell has 63 tackles, 11 passes defended and has scored twice this season for the Buckeyes.

Joining Bell on the second team according to both the coaches and the media was defensive tackle Adolphus Washington while cornerback Eli Apple was a second-team pick by the coaches. 

Honorbale mention went to defensive end Tyquan Lewis, cornerback Gareon Conley and safety Tyvis Powell.

The Ohio State defense is second nationally in scoring with 14.0 points per game and is 10th in total defense, allowing 303.5 yards per game.

On special teams punter Cameron Johnston was the second-team pick by both the coaches and the media. Johnston is second in the league with a 44.1 average. Jalin Marshall was an honorbale mention punt returner.

Offensive honors will be released by the conference Tuesday at 6 p.m. on BTN Live.


Buckeye Sports Top Stories