Ohio State Running Back Ezekiel Elliott Wins Chicago Tribune Silver Football

Running back Ezekiel Elliott was named the Big Ten MVP, marking the 18th time that an Ohio State player has been so honored.

Ezekiel Elliott was not invited to New York as a Heisman finalist, but the Ohio State running back got a pretty good consolation prize Friday.

Elliott was named the Chicago Tribune's Big Ten Most Valuable Player, honored with the Silver Football Trophy. It's the 18th time an Ohio State player has won the award and Elliott is the 16th different Buckeye to claim the honor, which has been handed out since 1924.

The Ohio State running back led the conference in rushing, averaging 139.3 yards per game, and scoring with 19 touchdowns. He cleared 200 yards twice in Big Ten play, rushing for 274 yards against Indiana and 214 yards against Michigan.

Elliott, who beat out fellow finalists in Iowa quarterback C.J. Beathard and Michigan State quarterback Connor Cook, is the first Buckeye to win the award since Braxton Miller won his second consecutive Silver Football in 2013. He is the first Ohio State running back to win the award since Eddie George was so honored in 1995.

Following a junior season that saw him rush for 1,672 yards, Elliott is now second only to Archie Griffin in the Ohio State's record books with 3,812 career rushing yards

Ohio State Silver Football Winners

2015 – RB Ezekiel Elliott

2013 – QB Braxton Miller

2012 – QB Braxton Miller

2006 – QB Troy Smith

1998 – QB Joe Germaine

1996 – OT Orlando Pace

1995 – RB Eddie George

1984 – RB Keith Byars

1981 – QB Art Schlichter

1974 – QB Cornelius Greene

1973 – RB Archie Griffin

1975 – RB Archie Griffin

1955 – HB Howard Cassady

1950 – HB Vic Janowicz

1945 – FB Ollie Cline

1944 – HB Les Horvath

1941 – FB Jack Graf

1930 – E Wes Fesler

Buckeye Sports Top Stories