Josh Winslow/BSB

Ohio State Football: Tyquan Lewis, Cam Johnston Earn Individual Big Ten Awards

Ohio State defensive lineman Tyquan Lewis and punter Cameron Johnston were named individual conference award winners Nov. 29.

Just a few days after Ohio State earned a signature win over Michigan at home, a plethora of Buckeyes were recognized with individual honors Nov. 29. 

Defensive lineman Tyquan Lewis was named the Big Ten Smith-Brown defensive lineman of the year while senior Cameron Johnston earned the Eddleman-Fields punter of the year award for the leagues best punter. 

Lewis, a native of North Carolina tied for sixth in the Big Ten this season with 7.5 sacks while also adding 27 total tackles, five quarterback hurries, three forced fumbles and two pass deflections on the season. The junior defensive end was also named a first team All-Big Ten selection. 

A native of Australia and a Ray Guy Award finalist, Johnston ranked first in the Big Ten in net punting as a senior with the Buckeyes. Johnston also garnered first team All-Big Ten honors. 

In addition, redshirt-sophomore safety Malik Hooker was a consensus first team All-Big Ten selection as was junior linebacker Raekwon McMillan. Redshirt sophomore cornerback Marshon Lattimore was named a first team All-Big Ten selection by the coaches and second team by the media. Junior corner Gareon Conley was a second team selection by the coaches and third team by the media. 

Multiple Buckeyes were named to the honorable mention list as sophomore linebacker Jerome Baker, junior defensive lineman Michael Hill, junior defensive end Jalyn Holmes, sophomore defensive end Sam Hubbard, sophomore cornerback Denzel Ward and junior safety Damon Webb all made the cut. 

Kicker Tyler Durbin and Parris Campbell were added to the third team All-Big Ten list as specialists with Campbell being acknowledged as a return man. 

Buckeye Sports Top Stories