22 OSU Football Players Named Academic All-Big Ten

22 Ohio State football players received Academic All-Big Ten honors this year -- more than any other Big Ten team. 59 OSU athletes in seven sports were honored in total. Click here for a list of football winners.

The Big Ten announced today that 22 Ohio State football players won Academic All-Big Ten honors this season. The total is the highest of any Big Ten school.

Jason Caldwell, RJ Coleman, Doug Datish, Mike DeMaria, Dustin Fox, Simon Fraser, Anthony Gonzalez, Maurice Hall, Roy Hall, Derek Harden, Curt Lukens, Nick Mangold, John McLaughlin, Brandon Mitchell, Drew Norman, Joel Penton, Nate Salley, Brandon Schnittker, Antonio Smith, Stan White, Steve Winner, and Justin Zwick were all named to the team, which was released today. To qualify for the honor, athletes must carry a GPA of 3.0 or higher for their career and must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution.

Here is a complete list of football winners:

Illinois: 7 (Jon Beutjer, Arthur Boyd, Mark Kornfeld, Jordan Kruger, Scott Moss, Josh Norris, J.J. Simmons)
Indiana: 17 (Tyler Altman, Lance Bennett, Adam Braucher, Mike Doyle, Paul Haan, Aaron Halterman, Ty Henderson, Adam Hines, Herana-Daze Jones, Will Lumpkin, Will Meyers, Matt O'Neal, Russ Richardson, Chris Rudanovic, Josiah Sears, Alex Stscherban, Yamar Washington)
Iowa: 8 (Kody Asmus, Chris Barkema, Sean Considine, Mike Elgin, Michael Humpal, Ryan Majerus, Matt Melloy, Alex Willcox)
Michigan: 8 (Jason Avant, Adam Finley, James Fisher, Ross Mann, Troy Nienberg, Clayton Richard, Carl Tabb, Jeremy Van Alstyne)
Michigan State: 13 (Kiel Beltnick, Kyle Brown, Pete Clifford, Cole Corey, Brian Davies, Brandon Fields, Mike Gyetvai, Chris Morris, Gordon Niebylski, Chad Simon, Eric Smith, Drew Stanton, Kaleb Thronhill)
Minnesota: 11 (Tony Brinkhaus, Greg Eslinger, Jason Lamers, Mark Losli, Pat McCarthy, Logan Payne, Jarod Posthumus, John Shevlin, Dominique Sims, Matt Spaeth, Tyson Swaggert)
Northwestern: 9 (Jeff Backes, Scott Brownley, Luis Castillo, Bryan Heinz, Joel Howells, Ryan Pederson, Dominique Price, Frederic Tarver, Eric VanderHorst)
Ohio State: 22 (list above)
Penn State: 16 (Michael Baird, Chris Ganter, Andrew Guman, Paul Jefferson, Andrew Kubic, Nick Marmo, Nolan McCready, Zack Mills, Brendan Perretta, Paul Posluszny, Michael Robinson, Adam Senk, Tim Shaw, Gio Vendemia, Brent Wise, J.R. Zwierzynski)
Purdue: 6 (Charles Davis, Aaron Levin, Brian Mattaway, Tyler Moore, Matt Turner, Grant Walker)
Wisconsin: 10 (Ken DeBauche, Paul Joran, John Gillen, Jim Leonhard, Mike Lorenz, Jason Pociask, Joe Stellmacher, Ben Strickland, Joe Thomas, Jake Wood)

Big Ten Press Release:

Park Ridge, IL -- As the fall term of the 2004-05 school year comes to a close, the Big Ten recognizes a total of 556 fall sports athletes who have been named to the Academic All-Conference Team. The list of honored student-athletes features 40 men's and 93 women's cross country runners, 57 field hockey players, 127 football players, 59 men's and 123 women's soccer athletes and 57 volleyball players. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a career grade-point average (GPA) of 3.0 or better.

At least five Big Ten student-athletes have maintained unblemished GPAs. A trio of women's cross country runners boast a 4.00 GPA in Indiana's Jessica Gall (So., Political Science), Ohio State's Sarah Cass (Jr., Psychology) and Purdue's Anne King (So., Civil Engineering). In women's soccer, Iowa's Susan Yagla (So., Pre-Exercise Science) and Wisconsin's Jessica Ring (Sr., Legal Studies) also claimed perfect GPAs.

The Big Ten Academic All-Conference award winners also achieved excellence outside of the classroom. In women's soccer, Penn State's Tiffany Weimer (Jr., Journalism) and Natalie Jacobs (Jr., Advertising & Public Relations) collected Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year accolades, respectively, as they guided the Nittany Lions to their seventh-straight League title. In field hockey, a trio of Academic All-Big Ten picks garnered First Team All-America honors from the National Field Hockey Coaches Association in Iowa's Barb Weinberg (Sr., Psychology, Health and Sports Studies), Michigan State's Veerle Goudswaard (Sr., Criminal Justice) and Penn State's Amanda Eckert (Sr., Recreation, Park and Tourism Management). Ohio State's Stacey Gordon (Sr., Sports and Leisure Studies) was tabbed volleyball's Player of the Year for the second time after setting the League's career kills record and leading the Buckeyes to their 13th overall NCAA appearance. On the football field, four Academic All-Big Ten performers have already been named to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America First Team in Northwestern's duo of defensive back Jeff Backes (Sr., Psychology) and defensive tackle Luis Castillo (Sr., Economics), Penn State defensive back Andrew Guman (Sr., Finance) and Wisconsin defensive back Jim Leonhard (Sr., Kinesiology).

Buckeye Sports Top Stories