Bucknuts TV: Video Of 'Tremendous 26' Photo Shoot

On Sunday, the Bucknuts Staff had the good fortune of being able to spend a good part of the afternoon with over 20 of Ohio's top football players at the Ohio High School Football Guide photo shoot. We will be bringing you coverage of this event and updates from the players who attended throughout the next several days, and today, we have a special video clip of the players lining up for the cover shot. For more on the guide, check out http://www.hssp.cc. Click the link for the clip.

This past Sunday, High School Sports Publications gathered over 20 of the state's top football players together in OSU's Ohio Stadium for a photo shoot and ceremony for this year's Ohio High School Football Guide. The guide is a 600-plus page book that consists of information about high school football teams from across the state of Ohio. They select their Tremendous 26 players from across the state and put them on the cover of the guide, which can be purchased online either at the HSSP Web site or at JJHuddle.com (http://www.jjhuddle.com/update/OHSSP2005.htm).

This is the third year HSSP have selected a Tremendous 26 and the second year they have gathered their choices for the Tremendous 26 at the Horseshoe; last year's selections included future Buckeyes Alex Boone, Jamario O'Neal, and Jim Cordle and also included Akron Hoban RB Tyrell Sutton, Warren Harding WR Mario Manningham, Huber Heights Wayne WR Greg Orton, and Hamilton DB Adam Myers-White. The criteria for the Tremendous 26 is that the players must be students first, they must show good leadership skills on and off the field, and they must finally be a great high school athlete (they do not necessarily have to be heavily recruited). Recommendations are made from coaches across the state, and then the players are selected by a poll of all the head coaches in the state of Ohio.

This year's group contains a particularly good collection of talent. We have a neat video presenation for you today of the players setting up for the photograph in the Horseshoe. Commentary is by Steve Helwagen; the video runs just under 6 minutes and is around 12 MB. You will need Windows Media Player to view the video.

Click here to see the video. 

This year's team is listed below, underneath the photo:

Row 1 (L-R): RB DeLone Carter, Copley; RB Anthony Elzy, Warren JFK; RB Jahmal Brown, Cleveland Benedictine; QB Miles Schlichter, Washington Court House Miami Trace; ATH Ray Small, Cle. Glenville; CB Jovani Chappel, Trotwood-Madison

Row 2 (L-R): DB Drew Kuhn, Louisville; DT Martin Channels, Xenia; LB Ross Homan, Coldwater; RB Lance Smith, Warren Howland; S Cody Blevins, Miamisburg; WR Armand Robinson, Reynoldsburg; RB Chris Wells, Akron Garfield

Row 3 (L-R): LB Thaddeus Gibson, Euclid; WR Marc Krauss, Hamler Patrick Henry; LB Cobrani Mixon, Cincinnati Colerain; OL D.J. Burris, Kenton; QB Rudy Kirbus, Cleveland St. Ignatius, OL Justin Boren, Pickerington North

Row 4: QB Brennen Glass, Springfield South; DE Robert Rose, Cleveland Glenville; DE Kallen Wade, Cincinnati Withrow; WR Jeff Cumberland, Columbus Brookhaven; QB Mike Hartline, Canton GlenOak; TE Jacob Ballard, Springboro; WR Josh Chichester, West Chester Lakota West

Row 5: Mark Jackson, OL, Columbus Brookhaven; Connor Smith, OL, Cincinnati Colerain; Ryan Palmer, OL, Canton GlenOak; Lee Tilley, OL, Springfield South; Aaron Brown, OL, Cincinnati Princeton; Clark Crum, OL, Dublin Scioto


Buckeye Sports Top Stories