Photo Gallery: 60th Ohio North-South Game

The MVP of the 60th renewal of the longest running state high school all-star contest, Tyrell Sutton of Akron's Archbishop Hoban High School, rushed for over 200 yards and scored three touchdowns. Ohio's Mr. Football of 2004 will attend Northwestern in the fall but he left a lasting impression of him in Ohio in a classic performance during the Grange Insurance Ohio All-Star Classic.

Ohio North - South Classic

The day began with the first annual Ohio Classic Bucknuts Tailgate.

We had a small and friendly gathering of Bucknuts. Our man Steve Helwagen is in the back with a press pass hanging from his neck.

Even a few of the parents of some of the future Buckeyes who were playing in the game got together to tailgate at the Denlinger family RV.

Freddie Lenix

Jamario O'Neal

Alex Boone

Lawrence Wilson

Andre Amos

Todd Denlinger

Austin Spitler

Robby Schoenhoft

South captains include OSU walk-on Andrew Moses (far left).

North captains.

Coin toss.

Schoenhoft started game under his center Moses of Bishop Watterson.

And here he's getting swallowed up by Conor Reilly of Hudson.

But a couple of incompletions from Schoenhoft in the end zone stalled the game's first drive and the South kicked a field goal.

Then Mario Manningham of Warren G. Harding got into the act.

After making Gary Stubbs of Steubenville miss, Manningham outraced David Bruton of Miamisburg to the end zone.

On the very North next possession Manningham beat Bruton right down the field for a long TD reception.

The it was Tyrell Sutton time.

Mr. Football 2004 had 20 carries...

...for 203 yards...

...and three touchdowns...

...including a ridiculous TD run through half of the South defense on this run.

The South were fed a steady diet of Sutton...

...and more Suttton...

...this is a short TD run by Sutton...

...this is Sutton running with a screen pass...

...and still running with the screen pass...

...even in the fourth quarter he was running some more.

And after he was done for the night, Sutton celebrated with his brother Tony (far left) and his fan club at the game.

The winning coach, Brian Cross of Canton McKinley, got ice water dumped on him.

Manningham was the North's offensive MVP.

Derrick Stewart of Youngstown Ursuline was the North defensive MVP with two INT's.

Jared Humphreys of Jackson was the South offensive MVP.

And Amos was the South defensive MVP.

And Boone told everyone who the game's MVP was before he was announced...

...and he was right! Congratulations to Northwestern's Tyrell Sutton from Archbishop Hoban!

Cross accepted the winner's trophy...

...and the winning team celebrated.

A big thanks goes out to Grange Insurance for making the All-Star Classic a truly classic event. The people of Grange gave the Ohio High School Coaches Association a big check at halftime.

Thee end!

Buckeye Sports Top Stories