Laurinaitis & Gholston Pace Buckeyes

With the announcement of the All-Big Ten Football team (selected by Big Ten coaches) Ohio State fans will find several players earning honors with James Laurinaitis and Vernon Gholston taking two of the top honors.

With four overall selections on the defensive side of the ball the Ohio State Buckeyes were paced by junior linebacker James Laurinaitis who picked up Defensive Player of the Year honors to go with his first team selection. But while Laurinaitis may have taken many of the headlines Vernon Gholston proved he was a force to be reckoned with. With his performance Gholston was honored as the conferences Defensive Lineman of the Year.

Joining the pair on the first team was defensive back Malcolm Jenkins with linebacker Marcus Freeman earning Second Team honors.

On offense the Buckeyes placed sophomore running back Chris "Beanie" Wells and senior offensive lineman Kirk Barton to the squad. Taking second team honors was offensive lineman Alex Boone.

Six Buckeyes picked up Honorable Mention honors. Todd Boeckman, Kurt Coleman, Brian Robiskie, Anderson Russell, A.J. Trapasso and Donald Washington closed out the Buckeyes who were honored.

Other conference honors went to Illinois running back Rashard Mendenhall (Offensive Player of the Year), Michigan offensive lineman Jake Long (Offensive Lineman of the Year) and Illinois wide receiver Arrelious Benn as Freshman of the Year.

Here is the breakdown on the number of players placed on the first and second teams with honorable mentions listed with them.

Ohio State: 7 overall selections 6 Honorable Mentions

Michigan: 8 overall selections 3 Honorable Mentions

Illinois: 6 overall selections 5 Honorable Mentions

Iowa: 2 overall selections 7 Honorable Mentions

Indiana: 4 overall selections 1 Honorable Mention

Penn State: 7 overall selections 3 Honorable Mention

Michigan State: 3 overall selections 3 Honorable Mention

Northwestern: 0 overall selections 4 Honorable Mention

Purdue: 3 overall selections 4 Honorable Mention

Wisconsin: 6 overall selections 6 Honorable Mention

Minnesota: 1 overall selections 1 Honorable Mention

Buckeye Sports Top Stories