Buckeyes Looking To Enter Ultimate Shrine

Induction into the College Football Hall of Fame is an honor two former Buckeye players and one former Buckeye head coach is in the running for. The National Football Foundation announced today the names of 75 players and 8 coaches who comprise the 2008 Football Bowl Subdivision Ballot for induction.

Today in Dallas, Texas the National Football Foundation (NFF) announced the names of seventy-five players and eight coaches who will be considered for enshrinement into the halls of the College Football Hall of Fame.

To be considered a player/coach must go through a painstaking process to determine the names that will be added to a short list of the sport's finest players and coaches. Out of the 4.6 million individuals who have played college football, only 829 players and 178 coaches have achieved Hall of Fame distinction.

The 2008 class includes the following former Buckeyes up for induction with announcement of the inductees coming on May 1. Those who make the cut will be part of the foundation's annual awards dinner to be held on December 9, 2008 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City. Official enshrinement will be in South Bend, Indiana in the summer of 2009.

Coach Candidates

John Cooper, (1977-84), Arizona State (1985-87), Ohio State (1988-2000) -Led his teams to at least a share of nine conference championships and 14 bowl game appearances, including two Rose Bowls... Coached Ohio State to a Top 25 finish in 12 of 13 seasons... Coached 21 First Team All-Americas.


Chris Spielman, Ohio State-Linebacker-Two- time First Team All-America selection (1986-87) - unanimous in 1987, consensus in 1986... The recipient of the 1987 Lombardi Award, he is a three- time First Team All-Conference selection and a member of two BIG TEN title teams.

Jim Otis, Ohio State-Fullback-Named consensus First Team All-America in 1969... Member of the 1968 National Championship team... Named First Team All-BIG TEN conference in 1969 and led the Buckeyes to two conference titles... Led the team in rushing three times.

Good Luck to these former Buckeye greats.

Buckeye Sports Top Stories