Twelve Among Newest OSU Hall Of Famers

The 2008 class of Ohio State Athletics Hall of Famers was announced Wednesday afternoon at Ohio Stadium, the building in which former football players and inductees Jeff Uhlenhake and Bobby Hoying donned the Scarlet and Gray. Those two will be joined by 10 others, all of whom will be inducted in September.

The general consensus from most of the 2008 class of the Ohio State Athletics Hall of Fame was that most of them could not believe that they had been chosen when first informed of their honor.

However, a look at the accomplishments of the six men and six women to be so tabbed this year shows a group that should not have been too surprised at their selections.

On the men's side, the list is highlighted by football players Bobby Hoying and Jeff Uhlenhake and completed by gymnast Drew Durbin, baseball player John Edwards, lacrosse and soccer player Fred Keller and baseball coach Bob Todd. The women's selections are synchronized swimming twins Carolina and Isabela Moreas, field athlete Krista Keir, golfer Amy Langhals, rower Maxi Meissner and lacrosse player Megan Mirick.

The 12 will be inducted by Varsity "O" on Sept. 5 and be honored at halftime of the football game against Ohio University Sept. 6.

All seemed to be overwhelmed to join a group that numbers 82 women since 1993 and 233 men since 1977.

"I've never had an honor like this before in football," Uhlenhake said. "It's just so special to me. I've had people mention it to me before and I was like, "No, that's not going to happen,' and it's happened. I'm just so thrilled and honored."

Uhlenhake said he was among those who couldn't believe it when he first found out that Varsity "O" had selected him for induction.

"I was stunned when I got a call from Jeff Logan from Varsity ‘O' a while back," he said. "I'm thrilled to death. It's great to be here amongst all of these great athletes. It's a great class to go in with."

Uhlenhake is among four inductees to coach at Ohio State currently. Todd, of course, just completed the 21st season of his illustrious career at Ohio State, and this honor should complement his selection for the American Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame, into which he'll be inducted in January. Uhlenhake is on the strength and conditioning staff for the football team, while Langhals and Mirick are assistant coaches on the golf and lacrosse teams, respectively.

In fact, Langhals was working in that capacity when she first found out she had been selected for the Hall of Fame honor.

"I was at our golf camp and (head coach Therese) Hession had me come up to the front of the group before we got started one of the mornings and she announced it," Langhals said. "It was a total shock for me. Then when I got the papers in the mail I was reading it and I started crying by myself."

Durbin said that the honor is an excellent way to cap his time at Ohio State.

"It's absolutely amazing, wonderful," he said. "The career I had at Ohio State and the memories I have, to conclude it being a member of the Hall of Fame is just outstanding."

The following are short bios of the 12 athletes who will be inducted into the hall in September:

Drew Durbin, gymnastics, 1994-97: Durbin was a six-time All-American and three-time national champion on pommel horse. He earned All-Big Ten honors all four years of his career and was the Big Ten Gymnast of the Year as a freshman in 1994. He won five Big Ten titles – two on pommel horse, two on parallel bars and one in the all-around.

John Edwards, baseball, 1958: Edwards led Ohio State with 24 hits in 1958 before moving on to have a 14-year career in the major leagues. As a major leaguer, Edwards made three All-Star teams (1963-65), won two Gold Gloves (1963-64) and played in the 1961 World Series with Cincinnati and the '68 Fall Classic with St. Louis.

Bobby Hoying, football, 1993-95: Hoying is one of the best Buckeye signal callers of all-time. He led OSU to a 30-7-1 record as a starter and threw for 7,232 yards, the second most in a career for a Buckeye. In 1995 as a senior, he was a first-team All-Big Ten choice after finishing with 29 touchdowns, 3,269 yards and a completion percentage of 61.9. He won the Vincent DePaul Draddy Award in 1995 as the top senior student-athlete in college football. He played five years for Philadelphia and Oakland in the NFL.

Krista Keir, track and field, 2000-03: Keir was the 2002 Big Ten discus champion and finished third in the NCAA in the event that season. During her Ohio State career, Keir set the Ohio State and Big Ten indoor shot put records and the OSU discus record.

Fred Keller, lacrosse (1956-58) and soccer (1955-57): Keller earned six letters, three in sport he played at the varsity level. His most success came on the lacrosse field, where he received All-America honors in both 1957 and '58, years in which he was an All-Midwest Lacrosse Association choice. He had 16 goals in '57 and 14 in '58 as a co-captain of the team.

Amy Langhals, golf, 1994-97: Langhals was a three-time All-Big Ten choice and was the 1997 league player of the year. She was the Ohio State Female Athlete of the Year her senior season thanks to a campaign in which she led the Buckeyes to the Big Ten title and won the league's individual crown. Ohio State finished eighth in the NCAA that year. Langhals was also the Big Ten Freshman of the Year in 1994 and a three-time medalist as a Buckeye.

Maxi Meissner, rowing, 2000-03: Meissner, the second rower to be enshrined, twice was a first-time All-Big Ten and All-America rower and helped the Buckeyes win their first Big Ten title in 2002. She was also the MVP of the rowing team in 2001 and '03 and was named first-team All-Central Region those two seasons as well.

Megan Mirick, lacrosse, 1999-2002: Mirick was the lacrosse program's first ever first-team All-American, achieving that honor as a senior when she also was the American Lacrosse Conference Player of the Year. She ended her Ohio State career with the team's all-time goal-scoring record with 143 and was second in career scoring with 182.

Carolina and Isabela Moreas, synchronized swimming, 1999-2002: The Moreas twins were both 11-time national champions. Both contributed to teams that won the national team title three straight years from 2000-02, and both were part of national championship duet and trio routines from 1999-02. In addition, Carolina was the solo champion in 2001 and '02. Both competed in the 2000 and '04 Olympics for Brazil.

Bob Todd, baseball, 1987-present: Todd continues to hold the reins of the Buckeye baseball program and currently prepares for his 22nd season in charge. He has won 831 games, the most in OSU history, and has won 14 Big Ten regular-season or tournament titles in his career. Ohio State has made 12 NCAA appearances and 20 Big Ten tournament showings in his career and OSU has won 30 or more games every season of his tenure. He is a four-time Big Ten Coach of the Year.

Jeff Uhlenhake, football, 1985-88: Uhlenhake won four letters and was a first-team All-American and team MVP in 1988 as a senior. The offensive lineman was first-team All-Big Ten in 1986 and helped the Buckeyes to a share of the Big Ten title. He had a 10-year NFL career before entering the coaching ranks.

Buckeye Sports Top Stories