Spielman Selected Next Buckeye Hall of Famer

The National Football Foundation announced today its next class of Division I-A inductees into the College Football Hall of Fame, a 16-player, 2-coach group that includes Ohio State great Chris Spielman.

Spielman, who led Ohio State in tackles in 1986 and '87, was a two-time All-American and won the Lombardi Award as a senior the latter season.

He set a still-standing single-season school record for solo tackles with 105 in '86 and remains Ohio State's all-time leader in solo tackles with 283. He is third on the school's all-time total tackles list with 546 and tied the school record for tackles in a game with 29 against Michigan in 1986.

Spielman was selected first-team All-Big Ten three times and went on to play 10 years in the NFL for the Detroit Lions and Buffalo Bills.

The Massillon, Ohio, native made four Pro Bowls (1989-91, '94) and was named All-Pro once (1991).

He will be the 22nd Ohio State player to be inducted into the hall of fame and the second linebacker, joining Randy Gradishar (inducted 1998).

Also from Ohio State appearing on the ballot this year but not getting the call were Dave Foley, an offensive tackle from 1966-68, and Jim Otis, a fullback from '67-69.

The hall of fame class will be inducted at the NFF's annual awards dinner Dec. 8 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City then officially enshrined at the hall of fame in South Bend, Ind., in the summer of 2010.

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a first team All-America by a major/national selector recognized and utilized by the NCAA for its consensus All-America teams, and players must have played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior as well as within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football.

Other players to be inducted are Pervis Atkins (New Mexico State halfback, 1958-60), Tim Brown (Notre Dame wide receiver, 1984-87), Chuck Cecil (Arizona defensive back, 1984-87), Ed Dyas (Auburn fullback, 1958-60), Major Harris (West Virginia quarterback, 1987-89), Gordon Hudson (BYU tight end, 1980-83), William Lewis (Harvard center, 1892-93), Woodrow Lowe Alabama (Alabama linebacker, 1972-75), Ken Margerum (Stanford wide receiver, 1977-80), Steve McMichael (Texas defensive tackle, 1976-79), Larry Station (Iowa linebacker 1982-85), Pat Swilling (Georgia Tech defensive end, 1982-85), Geno Torretta (Miami, Fla., quarterback 1989-92), Curt Warner (Penn State running back, 1979-82) and Grant Wistrom (Nebraska defensive end, 1994-97).

Coaches to be inducted are Dick MacPherson (Syracuse and Massachusetts) and John Robinson (USC and UNLF).

Buckeye Sports Top Stories