Turner Adds Naismith Trophy To Awards Haul

The National Association of Basketball Coaches became the latest group to honor Evan Turner on Sunday night when the group announced the Ohio State point guard won the Naismith Award.

Evan Turner added another accolade to his long list of honors this season when he was named the 2010 Naismith Trophy on Sunday night by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

Turner, a junior point guard from Chicago, is the fourth Big Ten player to win the Naismith Trophy, joining Glen Robinson of Purdue, Calbert Cheaney of Indiana and Scott May of Indiana.

The other finalists for the 2010 Naismith were Kansas point guard Sherron Collins, Syracuse forward Wes Johnson and Kentucky point guard John Wall.

"I've said all year Evan Turner is the best player in college basketball," Ohio State head coach Thad Matta said. "I view him that way not because of his individual talent, which is extraordinary, but more so because of what he meant to his teammates and our coaching staff. His work ethic and the example he set for his teammates and future Buckeyes are unmatched. I congratulate Evan for winning the Naismith National Player of the Year honor for 2010. He and his family deserve this recognition for all the efforts spent toward earning this individual accomplishment."

This season Turner led the 29-8 Buckeyes to a share of the Big Ten regular season championship and to the title in the conference tournament.

The 6-7 junior led the conference in scoring (20.4) and rebounding (9.2) and also averaged 2.0 steals and 5.9 assists per game. He concluded his third year in scarlet and gary 15th on the school's career scoring list, 13th in career rebounds, seventh in assists and third in steals.

Turner accepted the trophy Sunday at the NABC Guardians of the Game awards program at the Murat Theatre in Indianapolis.

He called winning the award an amazing achievement.

"I'm honored to be recognized for this award," he said. "Though this is an individual honor, I'm thrilled to represent my family, my teammates, coaches and the Ohio State University. 

"As the first Buckeye to win the award, to have my name listed with some of the greats of the game like Kareem (Lew Alcindor), Bill Walton, Larry Bird and Michael Jordan is incredible. I appreciate those who voted for me and am just really excited to be associated with this award."

Previously this year, Turner has been named Big Ten Player of the Year and earned national player of the year recognition from The Sporting News, The Associated Press and the United States Basketball Writers Association.

Buckeye Sports Top Stories