Hunter Picked By 49ers In Fourth Round

Kendall Hunter became the 12th Oklahoma State player to be selected in the NFL Draft since Mike Gundy became head coach of the Cowboys on Saturday when he was chosen by the San Francisco 49ers in the fourth round. The fourth-leading rusher in OSU history was the 115th pick overall in the 2011 NFL Draft.

Hunter was a two-time consensus All-American for the Cowboys and was also a two-time first-team all-Big 12 honoree. He led the league in rushing as a sophomore in 2008. As a senior in 2010, he was the runner-up to teammate Justin Blackmon for Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year honors.

"This is a dream come true for me and I'm very excited about getting the chance to play in the NFL," Hunter said in a news release from the OSU Media Relations Office. "I want to thank everyone at Oklahoma State for helping me get here, but especially my coaches, teammates and the great fans."

A native of Tyler, Texas who averaged 5.9 yards per carry in the rugged Big 12 Conference, Hunter rushed for 4,181 yards in his career to finish as the fourth-leading rusher in Oklahoma State history and the fifth-leading rusher in Big 12 history. His 37 career rushing touchdowns are also good for fourth in school history.

Hunter was a big part of the elevation of the Oklahoma State football program in recent years, as the Cowboys were a staple in the top 25 with Hunter lining up in the backfield. With Hunter as one of the primary focal points of the offense, OSU ranked sixth nationally in total offense in 2008 and was third nationally in total offense in 2010. Hunter was sidelined with an injury for most of 2009.

Hunter also stood out in the classroom, earning academic all-Big 12 honors and becoming a two-time recipient of the OSU academic achievement award during his time in Stillwater.

OSU Draftees of the Mike Gundy Era (since 2005)
2005 – Darrent Williams, CB (second round by Denver)
2005 – Vernand Morency, RB (third round by Houston)
2005 – Billy Bajema, TE (seventh round by San Francisco)
2006 – Charlie Johnson, OL (sixth round by Indianapolis)
2007 – Corey Hilliard, OL (sixth round by New England)
2007 – Ryan McBean, DL (fourth round by Pittsburgh)
2009 – Brandon Pettigrew, TE (first round by Detroit)
2010 – Russell Okung, OL (first round by Seattle)
2010 – Dez Bryant, WR (first round by Dallas)
2010 – Perrish Cox, CB (fifth round by Denver)
2010 – Zac Robinson, QB (seventh round by New England)
2011 – Kendall Hunter, RB (fourth round by San Francisco)

(OSU Media Relations contributed to this report)

GoPokes Top Stories