Four Pokes on All-Big 12 first team

Oklahoma State's Scott Baker, Jose Virgil, Josh Fields and Jason Jaramillo were honored today with All-Big 12 first team accolades. Several other Cowboys also made the second team and honorable mention lists.

DALLAS( Several returnees and numerous first-year standouts, including some true freshmen, are among the honorees on the seventh annual coaches All-Big 12 Conference baseball team and individual awards as chosen by the conference's head coaches.

Head coach Mike Anderson of Nebraska joins 2003 Player of the Year 1B Matt Hopper of NU and teammate LHP Big 12 Pitcher of the Year Aaron Marsden of the Huskers in a prominent 1-2-3 configuration for top awards. NU went 20-7 in Big 12 contests to win its second league championship in three years and to advance to the NCAA Regionals for the fifth consecutive year.

Anderson, a 1995-2002 top assistant under NU head coaches John Sanders and Dave Van Horn, rolled to more victories in 2003 than any first-year mentor in baseball or other Division I sports. He was assistant on the Huskers' first-ever NCAA World Series entries in both 2001 and '02.

Hopper enjoyed a .396 batting average in conference games only and blasted a Big 12 league-contest-best 10 home runs in 27 games. He also averaged better than one RBI per circuit tilt with 31 along with a Big 12-high .736 slugging percentage in the 27-game round-robin slate.

Marsden was equally-dominating with nine starts, a 5-1 conference mark, 2.94 earned run average, league-topping 69 strikeouts, only 11 walks, 9.65 strikeouts each nine innings, 1.54 walks each nine frames, 58 hits allowed, and just 21 earned runs in his nine consecutive loop starting assignments.

Newcomer of the Year P-1B-OF Scott Beerer of Texas A&M did everything but work concessions for coach Mark Johnson's NCAA-qualifying Aggies. Beerer had 12 consecutive overall saves before blowing a save opportunity, and in league activity he had 11 appearances, a 0.89 earned run average, was 4-0, had six saves, struck out 27 in his first 20 1/3 conference innings, and walked only seven. He also batted .301 with seven home runs, 24 RBI, and 64 total bases.

Big 12 Freshman of the Year catcher Taylor Teagarden of Texas also came on strongly when Big 12 time occurred. The true yearling and 2003 invitee for '03 Team USA batted .344 with three home runs and 21 RBI in 27 league outing after taking over as fulltime backstopper. He also tied teammate Eric Sultemeier for the conference lead in sacrifice hits with 10 in Big 12 play.

NU, Baylor, Oklahoma State, and Texas had standouts distributed throughout the All-Big 12 first units after successful campaigns.

Huskers' DH Curtis Ledbetter joined Hopper, Marsden and DH Curtis Ledbetter on the top team after rolling to a 23-game overall hitting streak (longest among Big 12 players prior to NCAA tourney play). Baylor's outfield tandem of Chris Durbin (.357 with eight homers and 22 RBI in league encounters only) and David Murphy (.411-4 HR-21 RBI in the Big 12) linked with utility man Michael Griffin (.340-plus average and 32 total RBI) on the first team. Texas OF Dustin Majewski (.440-3 HR-33 RBI, named Outstanding Player in the 2003 Phillips 66 Big 12 tourney with a 12-for-26 showing, .462 average, two HR, and 12 RBI), UT shortstop Omar Quintanilla (.368-2 HR-32 RBI) and starting pitcher J.P. Howell (4-1, 2.81 ERA, 50 strikeouts, nine starts in the Big 12) also landed positions. RP-3B Huston Street of Texas posted monster statistics with Beerer as the bullpen aces. Street had a 0.74 ERA, 5-0 record and five saves in 17 Big 12 games.

OSU outfielder Jose Virgil (.414-7 HR-33 RBI) along with teammates 3B Josh Fields (football QB stalwart in addition to his diamond duties) and catcher Jason Jaramillo (.379-7 HR-26 RBI) earned first team laurels along with starting pitcher Scott Baker (co-leader with six Big 12 triumphs, 6-2 mark, 3.29 ERA, 60 strikeouts, 13 walks, and 65 2/3 innings pitched).

Twenty-nine Big 12 honorees from 10 teams were nominated for the Dick Howser Trophy, Rotary Smith Award and Golden Spikes Award, and 12 members of the initial unit advanced to NCAA Regionals with their respective crews.


(As Selected by Conference Head Coaches)

First Team

1B-Matt Hopper, Nebraska, 6-4, 215, Sr., Golden, Colo.
2B-Eddie Cornejo, Oklahoma, 5-10, 175, Sr., Mira Lomo City, Calif.
SS-Omar Quintanilla, Texas, 5-9, 185, Jr., El Paso, Texas
3B-Josh Fields, Oklahoma State, 6-2, 210, So., Stillwater, Okla.
C-Jason Jaramillo, Oklahoma State, 6-1, 190, So., Franksville, Wis.
OF-Chris Durbin, Baylor, 6-0, 180, Sr., Wylie, Texas
OF-David Murphy, Baylor, 6-3, 195, Jr., Spring, Texas
OF-Jayce Tingler, Missouri, 5-7, 153, Sr., Smithville, Mo.
OF-Jose Virgil, Oklahoma State, 6-0, 210, Sr., Phoenix, Ariz.
DH-Curtis Ledbetter, Nebraska, 6-3, 210, So., Lawrence, Kan.
Starting Pitchers - Aaron Marsden, Nebraska, 6-6, 230, Jr., Grand Forks, N.D.; J.P. Howell, Texas, 5-11, 165, So., Sacramento, Calif.; Quinton Robertson, Nebraska, 6-5, 205, Jr., Richland, Miss.; Scott Baker, Oklahoma State, 6-4, 190, Jr., Shreveport, La.
Relief Pitchers - Huston Street, Texas, 6-0, 179, So., Austin, Texas; Scott Beerer, Texas A&M, 6-1, 200, Jr., Newport Beach, Calif.

Player of the Year- Matt Hopper, 1B, Nebraska
Pitcher of the Year - Aaron Marsden, SP, Nebraska
Coach of the Year - Mike Anderson, Nebraska
Newcomer of the Year - Scott Beerer, RP-1B-OF, Texas A&M
Freshman of the Year-Taylor Teagarden, C, Texas, Carrollton, Texas

Second Team

1B -Ryan Baty, Kansas, 6-4, 215, Jr., Wichita, Kan.
2B-Erik Schindewolf, Texas A&M, 5-11, 180, Jr., Spring, Texas
SS-Ian Kinsler, Missouri, 6-0, 170, Jr., Tucson, Ariz.
3B-Cliff Pennington, Texas A&M, 5-11, 170, Fr., Corpus Christi, Texas
C - Brad Flanders, Missouri, 5-10, 200, Jr., Smithville, Mo.
OF - Casey Spanish, Kansas, 6-4, 215, Sr., Savage, Minn.; Jeff Leise, Nebraska, 5-10, 165, Sr., Omaha, Neb.; Reggie Willits, Oklahoma, 5-10, 180, Sr., Ft. Cobb, Okla.; Eric Sultemeier, Texas, 6-2, 183, New Braunfels, Texas; Cory Patton, Texas A&M, 5-10, 210, Jr., Owasso, Okla.
DH - Ross Bennett, Baylor, 6-1, 180, Sr., Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Starting Pitchers-Steven White, Baylor, 6-5, 205, Sr., League City, Texas; Justin James, Missouri, 6-3, 199, So., Yukon, Okla.; Matt Farnum, Texas A&M, 6-2, 178, Jr., Littleton, Colo.
Relief Pitchers-(tie) Zane Carlson, Baylor, 5-11, 175, Jr., Dallas, Texas; Jarod McAuliff, Oklahoma, 6-0, 175, So., Stillwater, Okla.; Daniel Rew, Oklahoma State, 6-3, 190, Jr., Fayetteville, Ark.; Shane Hawk, Oklahoma State, Jr., 6-4, 185, Midwest City, Okla.

Honorable Mention

C Ryan Baldwin, Kansas State; RP Eric Rollins, Kansas State; OF Pat Maloney, Kansas State; 1B Tim Doty, Kansas State; P Andy Shipman, Missouri; 1B Mark Saccomanno, Baylor; 1B Cody Ehlers, Missouri; 1B John Urick, Oklahoma State; 2B Jake Mullinax, Nebraska; 2B Tim Moss, Texas; 3B Alex Gordon, Nebraska; SS Ritchie Price, Kansas; SS Joe Simokaitis, Nebraska; SS Chris Gutierrez, Oklahoma State; C Josh Ford, Baylor; C John Grose, Nebraska; C Taylor Teagarden, Texas; OF Ryan Rallo, Missouri; OF Lyndsey Simmons, Oklahoma State; OF Joe Ferin, Texas; OF Justin Ruggiano, Texas A&M; OF Scooter Jordan, Texas Tech; DH Mario Matulich, Oklahoma State; Utility Kevin Wheeler, Kansas; SP Danny Muegge, Texas; SP Justin Simmons, Texas; RP Abe Woody, Baylor; RP Ryan LaMotta, Baylor; RP Travis Wendte, Missouri; RP Casey Brown, Oklahoma; RP Brantley Jordan, Texas; RP J. Brent Cox; RP Jeff Karstens, Texas Tech

GoPokes Top Stories