Sutton In The Hall Of Fame

Eddie Sutton officially became a member of the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame on Sunday night.

The ceremony was held in Kansas City, Mo., and the legendary Cowboy coach was joined in the hall by college basketball's second winningest coach of all time, Bob Knight, as well as three-time Naismith winner Ralph Sampson.

Five others joined the class, including former North Carolina star James Worthy, Michigan's Cazzie Russell, St. John's Chris Mullin, television's Eddie Einhorn and former executive director of the National Association of Basketball Coaches Joe Vancisin.

Sutton's induction has been a long time coming and he was honored to be included in the 2011 class.

"I'm so proud to be here tonight with all these people, and to have dreamed, and now that reality has come true," Sutton said in his speech. "I'm humbled and extremely proud."

Sutton's impact on college basketball was profound, as he became the first coach in history to take four schools to the NCAA Tournament. He started his college career at Creighton before moving on to Arkansas, then Kentucky and eventually landing at his alma mater, Oklahoma State, where he led the Cowboys back to prominence in the ‘90s and ‘00s. He finished his career at San Francisco, where he earned his 800th win. He retired with 804 and is one of only eight coaches ever to win 800 games.

But OSU was where he made his biggest impact.

Sutton was a player at OSU, then Oklahoma A&M, under coach Henry Iba and then served as an assistant under Iba in 1958 and 1959. He returned as head coach in 1990, where he remained until he resigned in 2006. He led OSU to the Final Four in 1995 and 2004. He was named conference coach of the year three times (1993, 1998 and 2004) while at OSU and was named national coach of the year twice in his career (1978, 1986).

GoPokes Top Stories