Cowboys Have Six Named AP All-Americans

Oklahoma State keeps racking up All-American honors. Just one day after Sports Illustrated selected five Cowboys to its first and second-team All-American roster, as well as four honorable mentions, the Associated Press released it's All-American teams on Wednesday and six OSU players made the cut.

Receiver Justin Blackmon, a repeat Biletnikoff winner as the nation's top wide out, was the lone first team selection. Safety Markelle Martin was named to the second team defense.

Center Grant Garner, tackle Levy Adcock, corner Brodrick Brown and kicker Quinn Sharp made the third team.

OSU's six selections tied Alabama for the most in the nation. No. 1 LSU had five players named AP All-Americans. OSU's Fiesta Bowl opponent, No. 4 Stanford, had three players selected.

The teams are selected by a panel of 16 Associated Press voters. Here are the AP selections.

Associated Press All-American Teams

First Team — Offense

Quarterback — Robert Griffin III, junior, Baylor.

Running backs — Montee Ball, junior, Wisconsin; Trent Richardson, junior, Alabama.

Tackles — Barrett Jones, senior, Alabama; Matt Kalil, junior, Southern California.

Guards — David DeCastro, senior, Stanford; Kevin Zeitler, senior, Wisconsin.

Center — David Molk, senior, Michigan.

Wide receivers — Justin Blackmon, junior, Oklahoma State; Robert Woods, sophomore, Southern California.

Tight end — Dwayne Allen, junior, Clemson.

All-purpose player — Sammy Watkins, freshman, Clemson.

Kicker — Randy Bullock, senior, Texas A&M.

First Team — Defense

Ends — Melvin Ingram, senior, South Carolina; Whitney Mercilus, junior, Illinois.

Tackles — Devon Still, senior, Penn State; Jerel Worthy, junior, Michigan State.

Linebackers — Luke Kuechly, junior, Boston College; Jarvis Jones, sophomore, Georgia; Dont'a Hightower, Alabama.

Cornerbacks — Morris Claiborne, junior, LSU; Tyrann Mathieu, sophomore, LSU.

Safeties — Mark Barron, senior, Alabama; Bacarri Rambo, junior, Georgia.

Punter — Brad Wing, freshman, LSU.

Second Team — Offense

Quarterback — Andrew Luck, junior, Stanford.

Running backs — LaMichael James, junior, Oregon; David Wilson, junior, Virginia Tech.

Tackles — Jonathan Martin, senior, Stanford; Nate Potter, senior, Boise State.

Guards —Will Blackwell, senior, LSU; Austin Pazstor, senior, Virginia.

Center — Peter Konz, junior, Wisconsin.

Wide receivers — Ryan Broyles, senior, Oklahoma; Kendall Wright, senior, Baylor.

Tight end — Tyler Eifert, junior, Notre Dame.

All-purpose player — Joe Adams, senior, Arkansas.

Kicker — Caleb Sturgis, junior, Florida.

Second Team — Defense

Ends — Frank Alexander, senior, Oklahoma; Vinny Curry, senior, Marshall.

Tackles — Joe Vellano, junior, Maryland; Derek Wolfe, senior, Cincinnati.

Linebackers — Courtney Upshaw, senior, Alabama; Lavonte David, senior, Nebraska; Manti Teo, junior, Notre Dame.

Cornerbacks — David Amerson, sophomore, North Carolina State; Dre Kirkpatrick, junior, Alabama.

Safeties — Markelle Martin, senior, Oklahoma State; Antonio Allen, senior, South Carolina.

Punter — Ryan Allen, junior, Louisiana Tech.

Third Team — Offense

Quarterback — Matt Barkley, junior, Southern California.

Running backs — Ronnie Hillman, sophomore, San Diego State; Bobby Rainey, senior, Western Kentucky.

Tackles — Levy Adcock, senior, Oklahoma State; Cordy Glenn, senior, Georgia.

Guards — Ryan Miller, senior, Colorado; Gabe Ikard, sophomore, Oklahoma.

Center — Grant Garner, senior, Oklahoma State.

Wide receivers — Jordan White, senior, Western Michigan; Patrick Edwards, senior, Houston.

Tight end — Coby Fleener, senior, Stanford.

All-purpose player — Tavon Austin, junior, West Virginia.

Kicker — Quinn Sharp, junior, Oklahoma State.

Third Team — Defense

Ends — Sam Montgomery, sophomore, LSU; Andre Branch, senior, Clemson.

Tackles — John Simon, junior, Ohio State; Fletcher Cox, junior, Mississippi State.

Linebackers — Tank Carder, senior, TCU; Sammy Brown, senior, Houston; Emmanuel Acho, senior, Texas.

Cornerbacks — Nigel Malone, junior, Kansas State; Brodrick Brown, junior, Oklahoma State.

Safeties — Josh Bush, senior, Wake Forest; George Iloka, senior, Boise State.

Punter — Shawn Powell, senior, Florida State.

GoPokes Top Stories