Broadcasters All-Big 12 Team

Last spring we debuted the first ever Big 12 Broadcasters All-Conference Basketball Team as the radio broadcasters in the league put their heads together to honor deserving student-athletes. Now we introduce the first Big 12 Broadcasters All-Conference Football Team. The broadcasters participating are either play-by-play, color analysts or sideline reporters on one of the Big 12 radio networks.

Each ballot was counted once, except West Virginia, which chose to send one ballot and have it counted three times for the three members of their broadcast team. Each broadcaster who participated in the voting saw each team in action this season.

The team honors 27 first-team performers with 11 on offense, 11 on defense, and five specialists. There are also 27 players honored on the second team. There are also five special award winners.

For the first time that we know of the deep snapper position is honored on an All-Big 12 squad. This year's first team deep snapper is United States Army veteran Nate Boyer of Texas. Oklahoma's Austin Woods is honored as the deep snapper on the second team.

Big 12 champion Baylor had seven first-team selections including Offensive Player of the Year Bryce Petty, running back Lache Seastrunk, receivers Tevin Reese and Antwan Goodley, and offensive linemen Cyril Richardson and Spencer Drango. The defense player selected from Baylor was safety Ahmad Dixon.

Oklahoma State had five first-team selections with Texas at three, and Oklahoma two. Every team in the Big 12 had a player named to either the first team or the second team.

Other honorees included Defensive Player of the Year Ryan Mueller from Kansas State as he led the conference in sacks. One of the top runners in the Big 12 was Newcomer of the Year Charles Sims of West Virginia. Texas Tech sensation at quarterback Davis Webb was out Freshman of the Year. The Coach of the Year was Baylor's Art Briles.

2013 Big 12 Broadcasters All-Conference Football Team

First Team

WR Antwan Goodley, Jr., Midland, Tex., Baylor
WR Tyler Lockett, Jr., Tulsa, Okla., KSU
WR Tevin Reese, Sr., Temple, Tex., Baylor
OL Spencer Drango, So., Cedar Park, Tex., Baylor
OL Trey Hopkins, Sr., Galena Park, Tex., Texas
OC Gabe Ikard, Sr., Oklahoma City, Okla., OU
OL Cyril Richardson, Sr., Ft.Worth, Tex., Baylor
OL Parker Graham, Sr., Webb City, Mo., Okla. State
QB Bryce Petty, Jr., Midlothian, Tex., Baylor
RB Lache Seastrunk, Jr., Temple, Tex., Baylor
FB/TE Jace Amaro, Jr., San Antonio, Tex., Texas Tech

DE Ryan Mueller, Jr., Leawood, Kan., KSU
DT Calvin Barnett, Sr., Tulsa, Okla., Okla. State
DT Kerry Hyder, Sr., Austin, Tex., Texas Tech
DE Jackson Jeffcoat, Sr., Plano, Tex., Texas
LB Jeremiah George, Sr., Clearwater, Fla., ISU
LB Caleb Lavey, Sr., Celina, Tex., Okla. State
LB Will Smith, Sr., Riverside, Calf., Texas Tech
CB Justin Gilbert, Sr., Huntsville, Tex. Okla. State
S Ty Zimmerman, Sr., Junction City, Kan., KSU
S Ahmad Dixon, Sr., Waco, Tex., Baylor
CB Jason Verrett, Sr., Fairfield, Calf., TCU

PK Michael Hunnicutt, Jr., Richardson, Tex., OU
P Ryan Erxleben, Sr., Lake Travis, Tex., Texas Tech
DS Nate Boyer, Jr., Dublin, Calf., Texas
KR B.J. Catalon, So., Houston, Tex., TCU
PR Josh Stewart, Jr., Denton, Tex., Okla. State

Offensive Player of the Year: Bryce Petty, QB, Baylor
Frosh of the Year: Davis Webb, QB, Texas Tech
Defensive Player of the Year: Ryan Mueller, DE, KSU
Coach of the Year: Art Briles, Baylor
Newcomer of the Year: Charles Sims, RB, West Virginia

Second Team

WR Eric Ward, Sr., Wichita Falls, Tex., Texas Tech
WR Josh Stewart, Jr., Denton, Tex., Okla. State
WR Mike Davis, Sr., Dallas, Tex., Texas
OL Cody Whitehair, So., Abilene, Kan., KSU
OL Le'Raven Clark, So., Rockdale, Tex., Texas Tech
OC Dominic Espinosa, Jr., Cedar Park, Tex., Texas
OL Brandon Webb, Sr., Owasso, Okla., Okla. State
OL Mason Walters, Sr., Wolfforth, Tex., Texas
QB Clint Chelf, Sr., Enid, Okla., Okla. State
RB James Sims, Sr., Irving, Tex., Kansas
FB/TE Kye Staley, Sr., Guthrie, Okla. Okla. State

DE Cedric Reed, Jr., Cleveland, Tex., Texas
DT Chris Whaley, Sr., Madisonville, Tex., Texas
DT Will Clarke, Sr., Pittsburgh, Pa., West Virginia
DE Charles Tapper, So., Baltimore, Md., OU
LB Ben Heeney, Jr., Hutchinson, Kan., Kansas
LB Shaun Lewis, Sr., Missouri City, Tex., Okla. St.
LB Bryce Hager, Jr., Austin, Tex., Baylor
CB Aaron Colvin, Sr., Owasso, Okla., OU
S Sam Carter, Jr., Alief, Tex., TCU
S Darwin Cook, Cleveland, Ohio, West Virginia
CB Kevin White, Jr., Round Rock, Tex., TCU

PK Anthony Fera, Sr., Cypress, Tex., Texas
P Nick O'Toole, So., Corona, Calf., West Virginia
DS Austin Woods, Sr., Rockwall, Tex., OU
KR Justin Gilbert, Sr., Huntsville, Tex., Okla. State
PR Jalen Saunders, Sr., Elk Grove, Calf., OU

GoPokes Top Stories