Cowboys Selected To Host Baseball Regional

INDIANAPOLIS - The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced on Sunday the 16 regional sites for the 68th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship. Oklahoma State is one of those host sites. It will be the first time the Cowboys have hosted since the 2008 season.

"I can finally say it now and it feels good because our kids earned this," Oklahoma State Cowboys head coach Josh Holliday said. "We earned this on the field with the way we performed throughout the season.

"I feel great for our fans to have regional baseball back in Stillwater and I hope they will get out there and support us. We had a great crowd today (in Oklahoma City at the Big 12 Championship Game) and my only regret is that we did not give them a special moment, but we played some really good baseball over the tournament.

"To beat the quality teams we did, playing Oklahoma twice, Texas three times and TCU and come out 4-2. Like I said, our kids have earned this and we'll be glad to not get on a bus or on a plane next week and play in our home ballpark."

The 2014 Stillwater Regional will mark the 11th OSU has hosted at Reynolds Stadium. The Cowboys are 33-11 all time in regional play on their current home field and have won six regional titles, the last coming in 1993.

Fans wishing to purchase tickets for the Stillwater Regional can do so online through the OSU Athletics Ticket Office at Tickets will be all-session for $60 each. Single-session tickets, if any are available, will go on sale 90 minutes before each session at Reynolds Stadium.

Fans are encouraged to buy early as we expect tickets to go quickly. For the regional, all seats will be reserved and as a comfort to our fans, seat cushions will be provided on all bleacher seats. If still available, tickets will also go on sale over the phone via the OSU Ticket Office on Tuesday morning by calling 877-ALL-4-OSU (877-255-4678).

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records (through May 25) are as follows:

Baton Rouge, Louisiana – LSU (44-14-1)
Bloomington, Indiana – Indiana (42-13)
Charlottesville, Virginia – Virginia (44-13)
Coral Gables, Florida – Miami (Fla.) (41-17)
Corvallis, Oregon – Oregon State (42-12)
Columbia, South Carolina – South Carolina (42-16)
Fort Worth, Texas – TCU (42-15)
Gainesville, Florida – Florida (40-21)
Houston, Texas – Rice (41-18)
Lafayette, Louisiana – Louisiana-Lafayette (53-7)
Louisville, Kentucky – Louisville (45-15)
Nashville, Tennessee – Vanderbilt (41-18)
Oxford, Mississippi – Mississippi (41-18)
San Luis Obispo, California – Cal Poly (45-10)
Stillwater, Oklahoma – Oklahoma State (45-16)
Tallahassee, Florida – Florida State (43-15)

By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions have also been selected to the 64-team championship field.

In the projections for the NCAA Tournament field on Friday, we correctly selected 14 of the 16 host sites and all eight of our national seed projections are in. We were incorrect on South Carolina and Miami (Fla.) hosting, and instead we had Houston hosting two regionals with the University of Houston also hosting and the University of Texas, which we thought might have garnered the strength with their winner's bracket win over Oklahoma State on Thursday night in the Big 12 Tournament.

Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from May 30 to June 2.

Three institutions are hosting for the 20th time or more as Florida State leads the list of schools with 31, Miami (Fla.) with 24 and LSU with 22. South Carolina is hosting for the 16th time, while Florida, Oklahoma State and Rice are all hosting for the 11th time since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.

Virginia is hosting for the eighth time, while Mississippi is hosting a regional for the sixth time. Oregon State is hosting for the fifth time with Louisville, TCU and Vanderbilt all hosting for the fourth time. Indiana and Louisiana-Lafayette are hosting for the second time, while rounding out the list and hosting for the first time is Cal Poly.

Eight institutions (Florida State, Indiana, LSU, Louisville, Oregon State, South Carolina, Vanderbilt and Virginia) also hosted in 2013.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced Monday at 11 a.m. (Central time). The one-hour program will be shown live on ESPNU.

The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men's College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins.

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on on June 2 at approximately 11 p.m. ET.

There are 31 Division I conferences which will receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 33 at-large selections. The 68th Men's College World Series begins play June 14, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

GoPokes Top Stories