Cowboys Football Notebook

Oklahoma State sent out a release today the kickoff times for the first four games of the season, but as far as I can tell it is old news. We have known that the AdvoCare Cowboys Kickoff Classic would be nationally televised on ABC with a kickoff shortly after 7 p.m. on Saturday, Aug. 30.

The home opener against Missouri State the next week was TBA but is now slated for a 2:30 p.m. kickoff in Boone Pickens Stadium on what should be a toasty Sept. 6 game. That game will be broadcast on Fox Sports Southwest and Fox Sports Midwest. The Cowboys have won each of their last 18 home openers.

UTSA visits Boone Pickens Stadium on Sept. 13 with kickoff set for 6 p.m. (Central Time) on Fox Sports Net. The Cowboys and Roadrunners battled in San Antonio last year with OSU a 56-35 winner over former Oklahoma State offensive coordinator Larry Coker’s squad.

The Big 12 opener has been known for the longest time as the Thursday night game against Texas Tech on Sept. 25 in Stillwater will kickoff at 6:30 p.m. on ESPN. OSU has won five straight over the Red Raiders, and five straight in Stillwater over Tech as well.

The rest of the season's games are still to be announced as far as kickoff and television plans.

Answering An Inquiry on Roster Subtractions
This comes as the result of an inquiry about the roster and two freshman no longer involved in the program.

Running back Devon Thomas of Broken Arrow, Okla., is no longer on the team even though he is listed on the official roster on the website. I know there has been an uproar and that mainstream media sources have continued to pound on Oklahoma State, in some cases, for Thomas still being listed on the roster on the official website after Thomas was arrested and charged with a number of felony counts involving an armed robbery in the Tulsa area in May. That roster on is a spring roster that doesn't appear to have been updated since spring. I would imagine a new one will be on the way sometime soon.

Another incoming freshman that is already outgoing or no longer a member of the team is defensive tackle Joyan Williams out of New Orleans (Edna Karr), La. He has already gone home and was dismissed for violation of team policy.

You hate to see that but you also know it would be worse if it was something that showed up later on. It's an unfortunate part of college football and you've already seen it happen across the country. I can tell you there were no legal issues involved with the Williams situation.

Award Watch Lists
Several of the college football awards watch lists have already come out and so far the Cowboys have yet to land a player on a major award watch list. It's still early in the year for watch list and I would anticipate newcomer Tyreek Hill will make the Paul Hornung Award list for players with multiple talents.

Also, running back Desmond Roland, defensive tackle James Castleman and cornerback Kevin Peterson should make some lists that will come out over the next week to 10 days. Roland and quarterback J.W. Walsh also should make the list for the College Football Performance Awards, running back and quarterback awards, respectively.

Roland is a senior on the 2014 OSU squad and led the 2013 team in rushing despite starting the season as a backup. He also led the team with 16 touchdowns, including four in a 219-yard effort at Iowa State.

Walsh, a junior heading into the 2014 season, owns a career adjusted quarterback rating of 80.1, which ranks among the best in country for quarterbacks returning in 2014. His 170.11 quarterback rating in 2012 not only led the Big 12 and ranked fourth nationally, but was also the fourth best ever by a freshman.

No other school has a longer performance award history than Oklahoma State. Perrish Cox (2008 kickoff returner), Dez Bryant (2008 wide receiver), Justin Blackmon (2010 wide receiver), Quinn Sharp (2009 kickoff specialist, 2011 kickoff specialist), and Justin Gilbert (2013 defensive back) have all finished seasons with the strongest performances at their respective positions.

The purpose of the college football performance awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. Twenty-one CFPA winners have been first-round NFL draft selections.

CFPA is in its seventh season of recognition, utilizing its player and team performance index across offense, defense, and special teams.

GoPokes Top Stories